Vegan-Friendly Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I had a different texture than that of the video, aside from texture, it had good flavor. I have a whole batch to fry up tomorrow. Going to try it on Pita with hummus and lettuce, tomatoes and onions and cheese. I would love to try and bake them but they wont hold a round shape due to the very soft texture. It was not "course" enough. I will try again soon! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This was very good. Best I have made yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
The first falafel recipe I've tried that didn't fall apart during cooking. It's also the first one I've tried with soaked beans, not cooked. I fried these but next time will try to bake them. I think next time I'll add more parsley, but that's just my preference. I can't wait to make these again (and neither can my husband!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
First time I have made falafels and they were very tasty. We baked them but sprayed each with olive oil first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
It's been six years since I moved away from the East coast, and have had a falafel. Loved these! They were even better than I remember. I'm vegan, but my meat eating family would choose these over a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I left out the potato and onion, cut the amount of garbanzo beans in half, still used the same original amount of spices, left out the cilantro because of my kids and did almond meal instead of flour and baking powder instead of baking soda. Didn't put it in the fridge as it was already time to start dinner. I really liked it, my kids not so much but they are little and still at a picky age. I made a goat cheese based dip because that was what I had on hand and it went well together. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Omitted potato, added more cumin, used parsley instead of cilantro, as it was what I had on hand. I agree with the others that this makes some of the best falafels I've ever had...even in restaurants. Also baked instead of fried, but mostly because I'm not good with frying in oil. I think the flavors came through better baked, I found the flavors of the batch I fried were lost with the heaviness created by frying, but I'm no culinary expert so take my opinion for what it's worth :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
FANTASTIC!!! I served these in tortillas / pitas with red cabbage, tomatoes, and a vegan Tzatziki sauce: Vegan Tzatziki Sauce (just mix all below ingredients & chill for at least an hour): • 2 cups plain soy yogurt • 2 cucumbers, diced small • 3 cloves garlic, minced • 3 tbsp lemon juice • 1 tbsp olive oil • dash salt and pepper • 1 tbsp fresh chopped mint leaves • 1/4 tsp paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I make these with the tahini-sauce from the review and the tzatziki. EXCELLENT!!! Next time I'll make these gluten-free by using my Bob's Red Mill gluten free flour, or some oatmeal ground up in the coffee grinder. Makes a ton. Next time I'll halve the recipe unless I share it with another family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I left out the salt which is not needed with all the other spices. I put the batter in the freezer for 1 hour and then made the falafal balls about a heaping tbs. for each and slightly flattened. This kept the balls together with no problem. I panfried in about 1/4 " of oil turning the balls over after 3 to 4 minutes. Served in pita with tomatoe wedges sliced cucumers and spinach leaves sprinkled with a vinigret of wine vinager olive oil and some dry herbs. Thankyou for the recipe ,it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States