Vegan-Friendly Caramel Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Quite unexpectedly good for a vegan recipe. I made this to top some vegan chocolate cupcakes for some friends of mine that don't consume animal products. My only critique would be that it seemed a little oily/greasy, so perhaps cutting the margarine content to less than 1/2 cup would yield a better consistency. Taste is excellent, however, the texture is the only problem I am having. Also, I am refrigerating the frosting to see if it yields a less greasy result after cooling completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this to go along with a vegan chocolate cake for a vegan coworker's birthday. I had a little trouble following the first part of the recipe and the consistency was a little off at first, but I added a small amount more soy milk and it was slightly better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sah90504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
BEST FROSTING RECIPE!! I didn't add the shortening, and I added melted chocolate chips, and it turned out amazing. best vegan frosting i've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
tastse good But this is an icing! not frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is amazing!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
so good i ate it plain after i was done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofseven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I needed a frosting and as luck would have it, found one in need of a face. Only 4 stars, I used Real butter! The flavor was YUMMY!! The texture was a bit wonky, so I added a little more milk and that smoothed it right out! I used this to top Pumpkin Ginger cupcakes, but made a sheet cake instead. Thank you LenoreR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
If I could swear on here about how good this was, I would. My partner really assumed it would be no good because it was vegan--then she tried it. Now we're engaged! Actually, it wasn't because of this recipe, but it is really good, and we look forward to serving it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
WOW! Super easy to make and extremely good! I couldn't stop licking the bowl. I think I use this to dip my apples in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Vinaigrette

This tangy dressing uses white balsamic vinegar for a smoother taste.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States