Vegan Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Great idea! I used zucchini, mushrooms, green peppers and onions...then added black beans.. I just sprinkled on a heavy helping of southwest spice I had then servied with cheese and sour cream... sooo good.. didn't miss the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I agree that these were very bland as written. However, with plenty of fresh garlic, extra chili powder and generous sprinklings of cumin, it had a great flavor. I did not use the corn (I wasn't in the mood for its sweetness), and I thought pinto beans were a better addition than black beans. Some of my family put the filling in taco shells. With the changes, I will keep this in my recipe box. It IS a great use of zucchini :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I'm not sure if red wine vinegar is a good part of the marinade. It didn't have an authentic mexican taste to it but overall still tasted pretty good. I'm not vegan so I added sour cream on mine and used whole wheat tortillas. My husband wouldn't let me put the black beans in, though I wanted to. I also don't like canned veggies, so I added frozen corn while cooking the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This recipe was great as-is. Yummmm! My hubby and daughter added a little bit of sour cream and cheese to theirs. And some salsa because I didn't have any fresh tomatoes. So delicious! We will be making this again soon :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
yummo. everyone loved them. i originally mixed up jasmine rice and pinto beans for the side dish, then next day for leftovers put them in the fajitas. delish! definitely add some more spices, i added cinnamon, and then took a taco seasoning packet, mixed with some water and added that to the marinade. also added avocado to the toppings at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Lammers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
these are great I just love them quick and easy my cook time was shorter by about an hour not sure why, but other than that these taste great.thank you for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Entirely too sweet for my taste. Did not enjoy. Plus a lot of prep work. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Added a little garlic to the marinade and it was pretty good, though I might use less vinegar next time. I also used mushrooms and omitted the black beans and corn. If you're not vegan, a little sour cream and cheese sets these off perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made this because I am trying to find recipe's using zucchini and this was good! And I tried it with a flour tortilla and without so I think it's better without. The tortilla hides the flavors of the bell pepper's and the spices to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These were good right off the stove but the leftovers were not good at all imo. But anyhow I did add more spices to the veggies and I also added in spices to the beans (I used pinto, only because I was making black bean rice). I also made guacamole. I definitely recommend adding in less vinegar and more dry spices. Spices I used were salt, black pepper, paprika, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States