Vegan Curried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I already had 3 cups of (uncooked) basmati rice going in the rice cooker when I found this recipe. Since I am a bit shy about really spicy foods, I left everything the same, knowing I was going to add about 4 cups of cooked rice to the seasonings. Once it got to the point of adding the extra water that was meant to cook the rice, I added 3 ribs of diced celery, 2 thick slices of diced red onion, and 1 large grated carrot. It only took 3 minutes or so to cook them to the desired texture, then I stirred in 4 cups of cooked rice. It was still a tiny bit too spice for me, but I just added some of the leftover plain rice into my bowl, and I loved it. My husband said it was delicious as is; but he wouldn't mind a little more curry. Done my way, I used about half the spices the recipe called for, for the amount of rice I added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Delish Recipe, I did make adjustments to it though. Not a lot. I used 2 cups of Rice and 4 1/2 cups of water in total. Also I added 2 cups frozen yellow corn and 2 cups green peas. Also I did throughly rinced rice with cold water to prevent it from being sticky- It came out great, the amount of spices is just right, with those adjustments and it has a kick to it, so if you dont want it too spicy try cutting chilli powder in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Cooked it for dinner, it needs twice as much water, or two cups per one cup rice, I thought it was wonderful but my husband hated the smell of the cumin and loved the taste. Had to dump the rest out as he just could not stand the smell of that cumin. Served it with Naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I didn't have chili powder, and only used a 1/2 tb. of cumin, added a green onion and used non-fat vegetable broth in place of the water and bouillon. I also used Minute Rice brand jasmine rice. This turned out fantastic! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used the same amount of spices as the recipe called for, gave it a nice kick, not too spicy that you couldn't eat it. Added onions and peas. Had to use almost 3 cups water instead of one. Added salt, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Loved it just as written! A new family fave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This is so yummy! I like it by itself, but sometimes I add a package of curry-marinated tofu and a bag of frozen mixed veggies, and it is SO! GOOD! I don't think it's too spicy or too salty. I use low sodium vegetable broth for the liquid, and I actually add more curry powder near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Oh! Wonderful! The trick with the spices is to work with the flavors. Don't just throw in the amounts and call it good. I added a little Nutmeg and red pepper to mine and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Savage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Great flavor, easy recipe. It's a got a nice kick to it. I had to add an additional cup of water during simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUESUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Hey me again. I have to say when I made this I cooked the brown rice before adding it to the sauce pan. I added the vegetable broth as needed to keep it from being too dry. I cook brown rice frequently enough that I have cooking it down to a science, so I don't mess with my method. Again my husband said it ROCKED!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States