Vegan Curried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I've made this a couple of times. The first time I thought it was a little salty, so I omit the bouillon and use a homemade broth. Its very good with chicken and onions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
The smell was a bit much for me, but my father had woken from a deep sleep absolutely loving the smell, reminding him of his grandma's Armenian cooking. It was a nice recipe to try, but I won't make it again unless my father's bagging will make me give in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This rice tasted pretty good, but the mix of curry powder and soy sauce didn't make for a very appealing color. I would recommend omitting the soy sauce and adding some turmeric and/or saffron for a really "curry" color. Also mix in some chopped onion and peas for both flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This rice ROCKS!!! I had to add a little extra vegetable broth. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for a great recipe Isaac!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Tasted great!! I added a bit of ginger as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This rice dish is wonderful, aromatic and full bodied flavored. One of my children does not like very spicey food, so I did cut back on the chili pepper. I also used chichen broth instead of water. I will make this over and over, especially with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I added a small yellow onion to the mix before the garlic. I thought the spice blend was good, but found it sufficent enough to flavor 2 cups of rice for my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This recipe was really nice...I left off a star because I thought the process to make the rice caused it to be a bit goo-ey. I would suggest parboiling the rice in plain water until the water boils whilst preparing the seasonings separately, then add fresh water to the seasonings, drain water from rice and then add it to seasoned water when it comes to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
My husband and I loved the robust flavor of this recipe, and the texture turned out exactly as it should have. However, we found the final product to be a tad greasy; next time we'll use only 1 T. of olive oil. Otherwise, it was fabulous (but VERY spicy, which we enjoy but others may want to be wary of).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
We loved the flavour of the rice using the full tablespoon of each spice. I also used vegetable broth instead of a cube but had to add an extra cup of water to cook the rice through. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States