Vegan Curried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This recipe was NOT what I thought it was going to be. It tasted like Chili Rice not Curried Rice. I threw it ALL away. I will NOT make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I usually don't like to rate recipes that I've made changes to since it isn't the original recipe anymore but in this case I really want to comment! I made this last night, using more liquid, as others suggested. I also used sushi rice because I like sticky rice and also because that's all I had. I didn't have veggie bullion cubes so I used a mix of 1 cup water and 1 cup veggie stock. I used the spices as listed and it was wonderful!!! Hubby went back for 3 bowls and that never happens! He said he should probably stop eating it but he couldn't! And it IS spicy. That is saying a lot coming from a person like me who's favorite category is "stupid hot"! LOL This a great recipe and I can't wait to try it with regular rice to see if it gets a creamier consistency. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivianne417

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was a great recipe paired with an Indian Chicken entree. I added some frozen vegetables and sliced fresh mushrooms to the rice too. Delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
i followed the recipe exactly and it was absolutely perfect. yummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artgrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Great flavor, great recipe thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was delicious and easy! The only things I changed was double the amount of water for the rice (what kind of rice are you using?), used hot sauce and cayenne pepper in lieu of chili powder, and doubled the garlic because that's how I roll. I served it with an ad hoc chick pea & tomato dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Delicious and very spicy. Needs 2 cups of water obviously, I think that was a typo. Otherwise, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I've made this recipe 3 times since I first saw it, but with some modifications. I added extra curry powder, some garam masala and ginger as well as currants, frozen peas and carrots and hash brown potatoes (not sure if that changes it from vegan). The quantity of water needs to be adjusted and I used jasmine rice as a variation. Delicious and versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This recipe didn't have enough water for the amount of rice. I ended up using about 3 cups of water instead of the 1 cup as written. That aside the rice was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I'm a vegetarian and my family are dedicated meat-eaters. I use basmati rice with this AND my family and I love it! Finally, a side we all enjoy! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States