Vegan Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by reestronaut
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I've been vegan for 3 years, and this is the first time I ever got my cupcakes to rise and poof up! I was so excited when I took them out of the oven. I ended up only making 12 and filling them up higher- 3 tablespoons per cupcake. The wrapper came off super easily, too. They were just a little sticky, but that was to be expected. They weren't at all dense like the ones I used to make. This is a recipe to stay! I also used vegetable oil instead of coconut oil, and I used RAW apple cider vinegar, which I think had a better effect on the curdling with the almond milk. Can't wait to share these with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reestronaut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've made these twice now and decided I need to review these, as they are fantastic! The first time I made them, I followed the recipe exactly. I made them for my daughter's birthday celebration at school. They passed the second-grader test and the teachers told me they were some of the best cupcakes they'd ever had. No one even knew they were vegan. I just made a second batch for my son's birthday. He requested lemon cupcakes, so I used lemon juice instead of apple cider vinegar and added 1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon zest to the batter. I just tasted one, and it will take some serious will power not to eat them all before the party! The subtle lemon flavor paired with the coconut oil is a seriously good combination. They're not super lemony, but paired with a lemon frosting, they will be amazing. Thanks for the great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
These are easy and came out nicely and I feel that it may be versatile so you can probably add your own twist to it. I want to try cinnamon or cocoa powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I have never tasted a better cupcake, vegan or otherwise! I haven't shut up about these since I finished baking. I don't like cake, frosting or cupcakes but these have changed my mind, for good! I also took the advice of other reviewers and substituted vegetable oil (a bit less than 1/2 cup) for coconut oil. I'm not opposed to the coconut but I just didn't have it in my home today. These came out fluffy, moist and utterly perfect! Even my sons and 4 year old daughter ate them in 4 bites. I will be baking these again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Céilidh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great cake recipe, too! Fluffy, moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I love this recipe! I use coconut milk instead of almond, brown sugar and whole wheat flour. Sometimes it takes 25 min to bake. Adding berries on the top makes these cupcakes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
These were very tasty and no need for frosting. I did change a few ingredients such as vanilla kefir instead of the almond milk and decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup. I now have a go-to egg free cake batter. I might try it with a gluten free flour next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Very good...I recommend using vanilla flavored almond milk it adds a little bit more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Easy recipe. Cupcakes came out soft and yummy. Didn't rise much. My icing was a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Just made these - hands down the best cupcakes I've made to date! Followed the recipe, but instead of regular almond milk, I used the low fat vanilla kind (what I had on hand). I also increased the baking soda so 1/4 tsp, and used regular vinegar. Baked for 15 min, and they rose perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States