Vegan Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
These crepes taste great (very close to the real thing). The only reason I didn't give this recipe five stars is because they are very hard to flip in the cooking process. I ended up ruining about half of them before I decided not to flip them. They are so delicate that they kept falling apart on the flip. Instead of flipping them, I waited until the top was dry and then slid it onto the plate. This worked fine since they are so thin. They were very tasty filled with fresh sliced strawberries and bananas drizzled with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This is about as good as crepes can get without eggs. I had some trouble at first flipping the crepes, however, I found that using a very thin spatula, I could sort of loosen the crepe around its perimeter and then flip it without it sticking. I also found that the longer the batter sits in the fridge, the easier the crepes are to turn (don't know why...). I make the batter on friday night so saturday morning breakfast/brunch is a snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
These crepes were very tasty! If you make them, be sure to wait at least an hour before cooking them. I was impatient and so they didn't turn out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I've been making these for quite a while now, great for my toddler son who's allergic to eggs and dairy. The key to successful flipping is to not flip the crepe too early. I keep it on medium heat, wait until the edges are golden brown, and when the outer edges of the top side batter starts to "dry" a bit, they're a cinch to flip and come out great each time. Also, the crepe tends to stick to itself, so if you flip too early, or fold it over on itself, it can get pretty messy. Like others, I make the batter at night so it'll be ready in the morning. I usually make 1/2 batch since my son doesn't eat that much, and it lasts him several days. The batter has always lasted in the fridge for 4-5 days without any problems, though it might need a little stirring first. They really do taste surprisingly delicious with no eggs! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I adapted this recipe in every way possible so that it would also be gluten and soy free...and it worked!! I have longed for crepes and you have made me so happy. Here's what I did: used hemp milk instead of soy (it's thick like soy) used olive oil plus 1/4 tsp salt instead of soy margarine, didn't have turbinado so used brown sugar instead, didn't have maple syrup so used honey, replaced flour with 1 cup gluten-free baking flour plus 1 tsp guar gum. I had to add some water to make it thin enough...cooked on my cast iron skillet, made absolutely beautiful crepes without a hitch. Served with strawberry sauce and they were divine. My family thanks you. Would rate it more than 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Awesome! Not the easiest things to make, but the ones that don't turn out pretty are still delicious. crepes left to cool then wrapped tightly in cellophane keep well in the fridge for days - the batter doesn't. try 'em w/ soy ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
I was quite excited when I found this egg-free recipe for crepes! This is the best alternative for vegetarians and they taste like the real thing. Thick or thin- they're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
delicious! i'm amazed at how well they turned out, considering that eggs are a generally major component of crepes... i did have to thin the batter out quite a bit with water before i cooked them; other than that, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
These Crepes are truly amazing! My only complaint was having to wait two hours, I love these things so much I want 'em instantly.. is there any way to do that?? :) Honestly, these are so close to the egg version I almost died, I've missed my mother's crepes for too long. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
My brother is a chef and was horrified I'd make crepes without eggs, but they still turned out fine. Not pretty to look at but they taste pretty good. The batter is too thick, it needs to be watered down quite a lot, or else make double and use it as regular pancake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

How to Make Crepes

Make delicious stuffed crepes for breakfast, dinner or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States