Vegan Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I'm still working on perfecting these crepes, mostly getting them to be just thin enough that they will roll nicely. but, so far so good. delicious and easy to make. i agree with the other reviewer who suggested longer fridge time for those having problems flipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I adapted this recipe in every way possible so that it would also be gluten and soy free...and it worked!! I have longed for crepes and you have made me so happy. Here's what I did: used hemp milk instead of soy (it's thick like soy) used olive oil plus 1/4 tsp salt instead of soy margarine, didn't have turbinado so used brown sugar instead, didn't have maple syrup so used honey, replaced flour with 1 cup gluten-free baking flour plus 1 tsp guar gum. I had to add some water to make it thin enough...cooked on my cast iron skillet, made absolutely beautiful crepes without a hitch. Served with strawberry sauce and they were divine. My family thanks you. Would rate it more than 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
It works very good even though you need to add some water if you make it the day before because it gets so thick It's delicious! my friend is a vegan which is why I made this and she loved it! as a side note, I had no soy margarine and subsituted applesauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tala Rayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I have never made or eaten crepes before, but have always wanted to try them. So I used this recipe, and they were delicious. I can't wait to make these for people with fruit filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I loved this recipe. I mom doesn't eat eggs so this was great! I used regular milk, added close to 2 teaspoons baking powder and left out the syrup. I also took another reviewers advice and made the batter the night before. It was so easy to flip over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe. I am on a severely restricted diet due to my nursing son's various allergies, and was so happy to find this. And though I had to substitute non-wheat flour, it still turned out great. I didn't have any problems flipping them either using a wide spatula and waiting for the edges to brown. I actually liked how that made them a little crispy on the edges. Even dh and 2 of my kiddos liked them alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I've been making these for quite a while now, great for my toddler son who's allergic to eggs and dairy. The key to successful flipping is to not flip the crepe too early. I keep it on medium heat, wait until the edges are golden brown, and when the outer edges of the top side batter starts to "dry" a bit, they're a cinch to flip and come out great each time. Also, the crepe tends to stick to itself, so if you flip too early, or fold it over on itself, it can get pretty messy. Like others, I make the batter at night so it'll be ready in the morning. I usually make 1/2 batch since my son doesn't eat that much, and it lasts him several days. The batter has always lasted in the fridge for 4-5 days without any problems, though it might need a little stirring first. They really do taste surprisingly delicious with no eggs! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This recipe is great. I didn't have everything exactly as listed, but it wasn't a problem. I used regular granulated sugar, a lactose free margarine, and Aunt Jemima. I also added a tsp. of vanilla. I found it handy to make the batter the night before and just leave it to chill overnight, this way we had pancakes for breakfast (without having to wait 2 hours after we got up to eat). Oh, I also throw in blueberries or a handful of all-bran just before cooking for a change. So tasty. They look, smell and taste just like the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
These crepes tasted great! I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, and I'm not sure if it was because of that, but my crepes turned out kind of fluffy for a crepe. More like a really thin pancake. Next time I'll try them with all purpose. Just as a warning to you all, don't be disheartened when your first two or three break apart and get ruined, practice really does make perfect, my fifth one was perfect. For some reason my recipe made five rather than four like it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I make these all the time and they always come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

How to Make Crepes

Make delicious stuffed crepes for breakfast, dinner or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States