Vegan Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
An easy basic recipe. It turned out really nice--light and moist. This would probably also be good with green chilis stirred in. A warning about the printer ready recipe, it converted 1 1/2 teaspoons of egg replacer into 1 1/2 cups!!! Be sure to look at the original recipe for proper proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
So lovely and light mmmmmmmm I used 1tbl spoon of milled flax to 3 tbl spoon water as egg replacer equivalent to one egg. Almond milk instead of water and all organic ingredients made these perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
mm mm, sooo good. my whole family loved it. my only changes were to use 7/8 c soymilk mixed with 1/8 c lemon juice in place of the water (a buttermilk-like solution), and also i baked it in an 8 inch round pan at 350 for 20-ish minutes. i'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I'd made vegan chili for a potluck and decided to make cornbread to go with it. I doubled this recipe, added corn, diced red bell pepper, and jalepenos, then cooked it in a 10X13 pan. It turned out WONDERFULLY. There was one piece left at the end of the potluck and a friend took it home with a bowlful of chili for her dinner that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POETMARY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
These are the best corn muffins ever! I love the crisp tops. After a long baking streak, I ran out of all-purpose flour, so I used whole wheat instead. I didn't have any powdered eggs either, so I just used a regular egg. I like my corn bread on the sweet side, so I might add another tablespoon of sugar next time. I will definitely be making these often! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I really liked these! Not too sweet, but that works, they go great with a warm pot of soup or breakfast. And they're truly addictive! I had a tin only for baking cupcakes, so it made more, smaller muffins, I suggest filling up empty spaces with water, I'm not sure why, but my mom told me to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
These were insanely easy to make and much more flaverful than I expected. They were so popular I had to whip up another double batch during my last dinner party. I couldn't find dry egg replacer at the grocery store, so I left it out. These still turned out much better than I expected. They were gobbled up by both my vegan and non-vegan friends. I think next time I'll add some filler like peppers, jalapeno, or dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUNGFUMUNKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This recipe is wonderful. It goes really well with vegan chili. I can hardly wait for this summer weather to end so I can start making lots more! Oh yeah, and the non-vegans in my family enjoyed this recipe just as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Thank you! I used the recipe but substituted the one cup of water for the 7/8 of soy milk and 1/8 of lemon juice. Please, have chili with the corn bread, it is a very good and healthy pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These were very tough, dry, and tasteless. I DID use applesauce instead of oil, though, so gave it two stars instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States