Vegan Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I'm a new vegan, it' s delicious recipes like this that make me so happy to be a veagan, This cornbread is delicious and easy, The only change I made was I used original rice dream rice milk instead of soymilk, This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Delicious! I couldn't get any silken tofu, so substituted apple sauce to make up for the lack of moisture, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This cornbread is fantastic! I needed a recipe that was dairy-free, but used an egg in place of the tofu, as I didn't need it to be vegan. Otherwise, no changes. I wasn't expecting much, since my usual cornbread is buttermilk-based... and I was very pleasantly surprised! This may have just replaced my regular recipe! It was the perfect in-between cornbread for me. Not as sweet and cakey as Northern-style cornbread, but not as dry and crumbly as Southern cornbread, and with a hint of sweetness that Southern cornbread doesn't have. Great texture, great flavor, just right on the amount of sugar - I can't say enough good things about it. A recipe that my dairy-allergic daughter AND other family members can all enjoy gets 5 stars from me for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Delicious and so easy! I'll be making this a lot! Don't even need to tell anyone it's vegan. :o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Stahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this almost as instructed. It came out great. I always appreciate a good vegan swap. Unfortunately, I didn't have tofu. I figured the tofu was adding the binding, the moisture, that an egg would have added, so I substituted my favorite egg swap. I used a heaping tablespoon of ground flax seed, then added warm water until it made 1/4 cup. I stirred it then microwaved 18 seconds, then stirred it briskly. It thickened up to be like an egg or like pureed soft tofu so I went ahead with confidence. I made one other change. I added a small amount of whole kernel corn (canned, drained) -- about 1/4 to 1/3 cup. The bread was tasty. It was less fluffy than I prefer and had less cornmeal, I think, than I prefer. I will definitely make again (it is that good, and healthier for us) but next time will try a bit more corn meal and a bit less flour. Also I may try substituting some of the flour with whole wheat flour for health reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Not only does this cornbread taste great, but it is super easy to make. The texture is dense and the favor is excellent. It doesn't taste like anything thing other than cornbread. The sweetness is just right and not overpowering. I used coconut sugar because I did not have Turbinado sugar on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is the best cornbread! I made it has muffins for thanksgiving. So good! However if your making it has muffins watch how long you put them in for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This turned out great! Super simple and no one could tell that it wasn't traditional cornbread. I made it with rice milk, which is a little thinner and lighter than soy milk, so that may have helped with the consistency. I would definitely make these again. The only change I would make is possibly adding a bit more sugar, but that's just because I prefer sweeter corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Best cornbread I have EVER made! I have struggled to find good-tasting vegan cornbread, and simply none live up to the expectation I have of its taste and texture. Until I tried this one, that is! This is perfect. The tofu gives it that fluffier consistency I was missing with my close second favourite that involves flax seed as an egg replacer. When I made this, I substituted honey for the sugar. I should also add I thought i worked best to make in muffin cups instead of in a square baking pan. I loved it and have made it more than once! Definitely a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
we made this with a slight variation- used equal parts lemon infused olive oil and coconut oil in place of veg oil. WAS DELICIOUS! We are making again today and adding some zest... makes a super nice lemony coffee cake ish thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States