Vegan Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Best cornbread I have EVER made! I have struggled to find good-tasting vegan cornbread, and simply none live up to the expectation I have of its taste and texture. Until I tried this one, that is! This is perfect. The tofu gives it that fluffier consistency I was missing with my close second favourite that involves flax seed as an egg replacer. When I made this, I substituted honey for the sugar. I should also add I thought i worked best to make in muffin cups instead of in a square baking pan. I loved it and have made it more than once! Definitely a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Javagoddess
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was overall pretty good. Sometimes vegan recipe makeovers don't taste anything like the original (that's not always a bad thing), and while you could tell there was something different, you could also right away identify it as corn bread. My tasters gave it the thumbs up. My one comment is that it was really dense. It didn't have the sponginess and softness of cornbread--almost more dumpling-like, with a pretty doughy texture even when cooked through. That aside, it was still very tasty and enjoyed by many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
we made this with a slight variation- used equal parts lemon infused olive oil and coconut oil in place of veg oil. WAS DELICIOUS! We are making again today and adding some zest... makes a super nice lemony coffee cake ish thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This turned out great! Super simple and no one could tell that it wasn't traditional cornbread. I made it with rice milk, which is a little thinner and lighter than soy milk, so that may have helped with the consistency. I would definitely make these again. The only change I would make is possibly adding a bit more sugar, but that's just because I prefer sweeter corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this almost as instructed. It came out great. I always appreciate a good vegan swap. Unfortunately, I didn't have tofu. I figured the tofu was adding the binding, the moisture, that an egg would have added, so I substituted my favorite egg swap. I used a heaping tablespoon of ground flax seed, then added warm water until it made 1/4 cup. I stirred it then microwaved 18 seconds, then stirred it briskly. It thickened up to be like an egg or like pureed soft tofu so I went ahead with confidence. I made one other change. I added a small amount of whole kernel corn (canned, drained) -- about 1/4 to 1/3 cup. The bread was tasty. It was less fluffy than I prefer and had less cornmeal, I think, than I prefer. I will definitely make again (it is that good, and healthier for us) but next time will try a bit more corn meal and a bit less flour. Also I may try substituting some of the flour with whole wheat flour for health reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Wow, wow, WOW! This is really amazing cornbread! My teenage son has been strictly vegan for a few years and mentioned he'd really missed cornbread, so I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. I've tried soooo many vegan recipes for foods that are meant to replicate non-vegan dishes and it's a hit or miss thing if you expect an exact match for taste and texture. This recipe is a home run! I added about 1/3 cup of creamed corn, used a muffin pan, and reduced the cook time to 18 minutes. This was better than the non-vegan cornbread recipes I've tried - and I've tried a lot. The taste was exceptional and the bread was fluffy and a little crumbly, which I love. Definitely sticking with this as my go-to cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Delicious! I couldn't get any silken tofu, so substituted apple sauce to make up for the lack of moisture, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
Best cornbread. Hands down. I make it all the time and even carnists say it's amazing. I double the sugar, add a tsp. of vanilla, a tsp. of apple cider vinegar, and use half cornflour and half cornmeal. I also make a maple "butter" using earth balance and grade B maple to go with it. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I am not vegan but I was out of eggs and so was looking for a recipe sans eggs..... This was absolutely amazing!!!! Def going to make again! I actually did not have any soy on hand so I used regular 2% milk- so wouldn't be vegan recipe anymore, but nonetheless delicious! I also used white sure instead and did not use tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Better than regular - but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States