Vegan Chunky Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
This was some darn good chili for being meatless. Its not a fast meal so plan this for a lazy day or weekend. Pretty easy and straight forward to make. I only did changed a few things. I did not add any green beans, used real garlic instead of garlic powder, and after crumbling the tofu I browned it in a frying pan to give it a little more stiffness. Goooooood chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I would call this Vegan Chili Soup. The flavour is great, but the only thing chunky about it was the tofu. Go with fresh garlic and a sprinkle of chili pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
This was a great change from traditional chili. I did use canned beans and tomatoes instead of the soaked beans and fresh tomatoes. That made it easier and a lot less time consuming for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I tweaked this recipe a bit to suit my taste (and time constraints), and it's awesome! I used a can of chili beans instead of soaking all those dry beans, left out the green beans, didn't bother to cook the tomatoes down, browned the tofu up a bit first, and only added water as needed as it cooked, which made it the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
its really good all u need to do is add some more veggies if you want.... i highly recommend it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Legare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Awesome flavor... I omited the fresh tomatoes for canned (so you can eliminate step 2). I also use canned green beans from time to time, and sometimes add some corn. The only thing that I did not like was that there were no seasoning proportions given. I was an unexperienced chili maker when I found this recipe, so had to find my own seasoning. I usually use about 2 Tbsp. chili powder, 1 Tbsp cumin, 1/2 tsp garlic powder (or 3-4 cloves in step 3), and salt and pepper to taste (this varies depending on if I used fresh or canned ingredients). My non-vegan hubbie loved this recipe, and it always disappears at potlucks, especially when accompanied with sour cream on top, and fresh cornbread on the side (see my recipe, Nan's Yankee Cornbread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I doubled the recipe, came out excellent, was not too much water for me. I cooked the beans and the tomatoes almost 2 hours, then used a potato masher before combining them with the other vegatables. Spices- I used 5 Tablespoons of chili spice, a WHOLE head of garlic chopped, a whole sweet onion, a whole red onion, 1 Tablespoon black pepper, 1 Tablespoon salt. I served it over a bed of Frito's chips. This tasted fantastic, and the non-vegans added a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
An excellent recipe, we didn't miss the meat at all, it was plenty flavorful. I didn't have a whole lot of time to make the recipe as stated. I used a can of red kidney beans, a can of white beans, and cooked the lentils (they cook fast) instead of soaking overnight. I used a can of green beans instead of making fresh, and used canned diced tomato. So I eliminated steps 1 & 2. I followed the rest of the ingredients, and added some fresh garlic for extra taste. Then I realized that I did not have time to cook it on the stove, since I had to take my daughter to swim class. So instead of simmering on the stove, I threw all of the ingredients into the crock-pot, and set it on "low". When I got home 2.5 hours later, it was perfectly done. And very tasty too, thanks for the healthy, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I didn't have bell peppers or celery, but to me, this tasted like regular tomato soup with tofu. I used 3 cloves fresh garlic, 4 tablespoons paprika, 2 tablespoons cayenne pepper, about 2 teaspoons of oregano, a teaspoon or so each of pepper and salt. Did I not add enough spices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I will make this again. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States