Vegan Chunky Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Even the kids had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I first have to say, I wish I had the time to soak the beans overnight, but I didn't- I needed a chili recipe for that night. So I used canned beans and didn't soak the lentils (just cooked them for about 30 minutes). I threw everything together in a crock pot and left on low for about 4 hours. I didn't add water because there was no room in the pot! This turned out amazing! The flavors were perfect together and I actually prefer it to regular chili! Huge hit with my boyfriend as well! Made a double batch to freeze individual portions for later. Thanks for a great recipe! Oh, the one main modification I made was a large can of stewed tomatoes rather than fresh. If I have time next time I will try with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Excellent! Everyone enjoyed it and we did not miss the meat at all (even our pickiest). My only extra ingredient was some cilantro, which I always include in my chili. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I will make this again. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I didn't have bell peppers or celery, but to me, this tasted like regular tomato soup with tofu. I used 3 cloves fresh garlic, 4 tablespoons paprika, 2 tablespoons cayenne pepper, about 2 teaspoons of oregano, a teaspoon or so each of pepper and salt. Did I not add enough spices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
An excellent recipe, we didn't miss the meat at all, it was plenty flavorful. I didn't have a whole lot of time to make the recipe as stated. I used a can of red kidney beans, a can of white beans, and cooked the lentils (they cook fast) instead of soaking overnight. I used a can of green beans instead of making fresh, and used canned diced tomato. So I eliminated steps 1 & 2. I followed the rest of the ingredients, and added some fresh garlic for extra taste. Then I realized that I did not have time to cook it on the stove, since I had to take my daughter to swim class. So instead of simmering on the stove, I threw all of the ingredients into the crock-pot, and set it on "low". When I got home 2.5 hours later, it was perfectly done. And very tasty too, thanks for the healthy, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I doubled the recipe, came out excellent, was not too much water for me. I cooked the beans and the tomatoes almost 2 hours, then used a potato masher before combining them with the other vegatables. Spices- I used 5 Tablespoons of chili spice, a WHOLE head of garlic chopped, a whole sweet onion, a whole red onion, 1 Tablespoon black pepper, 1 Tablespoon salt. I served it over a bed of Frito's chips. This tasted fantastic, and the non-vegans added a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Awesome flavor... I omited the fresh tomatoes for canned (so you can eliminate step 2). I also use canned green beans from time to time, and sometimes add some corn. The only thing that I did not like was that there were no seasoning proportions given. I was an unexperienced chili maker when I found this recipe, so had to find my own seasoning. I usually use about 2 Tbsp. chili powder, 1 Tbsp cumin, 1/2 tsp garlic powder (or 3-4 cloves in step 3), and salt and pepper to taste (this varies depending on if I used fresh or canned ingredients). My non-vegan hubbie loved this recipe, and it always disappears at potlucks, especially when accompanied with sour cream on top, and fresh cornbread on the side (see my recipe, Nan's Yankee Cornbread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
its really good all u need to do is add some more veggies if you want.... i highly recommend it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States