Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
My daughter is allergic to milk, so I made this for her birthday. I made it into cupcakes and threw in some dairy free chocolate chips and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
I only have one complaint, the cake sticks to the pan. I'm not sure what to do to make it more cakelike in texture. It comes out like a supermoist brownie. It is tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
This is a fabulous recipe! I made it first for a picnic with friends and we all loved it. Two days later I made four more to give to friends. It is a sure hit! I even adapted it by leaving out the cocoa, using orange juice for the water and orange extract and grated orange zest. It was just as fabulous. To help ease it out of the pan, spay the pan with Pam, loosen with a butter knife. I used a souffle pan and it worked perfectly. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
this is the best vegan chocolate cake i have ever had! it's even better than non-vegan chocolate cake! super easy and quick! i served it cold with chocolate icing (pillsbury makes a vegan chocolate icing if you want something quick) and all of my friends gobbled it up (even the non-vegans). YUMMY YUMMY! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This is a totally awsome cake. You can also forget the chocolate, use banana extract instead of the vanilla and add two very ripe mashed bananas. Everything else is the same.(Grease and flour the pan} Bake in a standard loaf pan until a poker comes out clean, you can't taste the vinegar at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
A great, moist vegan chocolate cake! Made it for a b-day party for a vegan friend, and he thought it was fantastic. Us meat-eaters thought it was pretty great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This cake was deeee-licious. I've found that if you make it the day before you want to eat it, it is even better. (it actually seems a little more moist when it is not REALLY fresh). I have also taken the advice of another reviewer and made this cake without the cocoa, adding 2 mashed bananas and replacing the vanilla with banana extract. It turned out like banana bread and was fantastic frosted with banana frosting(1 cup powdered beet sugar, 1 tsp banana extract, 1/4 cup margerine and 1 tbsp. soy milk beaten until smooth and fluffy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Not half bad! It smelled a little weird while it was baking, but it didn't taste at all strange or vegan when it was done. In fact, it was a very plain, regular chocolate cake. Maybe next time I'll add vanilla to it and some chocolate chips. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
My vegan roomie loved it and she loved me for it! I served it with raspberry preserves, really delicious! Just a little dense, but moist and good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I make a recipe similar to this very often. It makes a very moist and delicious cake or cupcakes, and is easily doubled for a 13X9 pan. In my recipe, I use 3/8 C oil and substitute 1 1/2 TBS lemon juice for the vinegar, (it does the same thing) There is no flavor of vinegar or lemon. I've used both. It's also great served with mint frosting. Mint Frosting: 3 TBS margerine 1 1/2 - 2 C powdered sugar 1 TBS soy milk or water 1/2 tsp peppermint extract green food coloring optional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 518) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States