Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is a great recipe. I am not a vegan but my other family members are so I made this cake to please everyone. It was a big hit. Although I did tweek it a bit. I used coconut milk in place of the water. Plus poked holes in the baked cake and pored more coconut milk over it to add moisture. I also doubled the recipe and made it a layer cake with a vegan coconut frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Had I not made it myself, I would've sworn it wasn't vegan. I used melted coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and doubled the cocoa powder. Best chocolate cake I've ever had, let alone made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I am a professional, old school butter baker and I certainly could not imagine baking cake without eggs. But I needed a vegan recipe for cupcakes. This recipe stunned me! It was easy, inexpensive, they raised beautifully. They tasted identical to the deliciously dark recipe on the Hershey's cocoa box. I think I may just make this my official chocolate cake for my shop. I did use Hershey's dark cocoa (I doubled the amount though ). I used hot coffee instead of water. This worked. I made a simple peanut butter icing with shortening and margarine and powdered sugar. I drizzled them with dark chocolate and sprinkled with crushed peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These made amazing cupcakes. My daughter is allergic to dairy, nuts & eggs & is going to a birthday party tomorrow. I made these so she will have be able to eat cake too :) I did the following mod's: 3/4 cup sugar rather than 1 cup 1/3 cup apple sauce instead of vegetable oil 1 cup sunflower milk instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanniemare
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I just made this for my daughter and it is delicious! I had my doubts, but I was wrong. I used 3/4 cup of organic sugar instead of white sugar and it turned out great. Used vegetable shortening, water, icing sugar and almond flavoring for frosting - very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Tough and dry. I followed the recipe to the letter.... no substitutions or free-spirit alterations. Saved only by the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very delicious! I've made them several times and people were shocked they were vegan. For frosting I melt vegan chocolate chips with a little coconut oil, add a little rice milk and beat in powder sugar and together they are my favorite chocolate cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I give it a 5, rarely do I do this, because it's just excellent for the chocolate lovers in my house who are under a certain diet. I did follow the advice of Abztrakt, except I used a Pomegranate Balsamic Vinegar instead. The result was pure chocolate delight paired with fat free chocolate pudding. Thanks to this recipe I can satisfy the chocolate cravings in my house! in other words, a total sweet-tooth lifesaver. The smell that took over my house had neighbors knocking :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Gonzalez (Marifer)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Amazing cake make it all the time!!!! Was wondering if i could simply replace the cocoa powder with coconut flakes or apple for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Extremely easy to make and extremely tasty. I put all the dry ingredients in a bowl, made a well in the centre and poured the wet ingredients in. Was mixed in a jiff without using too many implements. I used Hershey's dark choc powder and though only a quarter of cup was used, the cake was dark and beautifully moist. It made 6 reg cupcakes and 12 mini cupcakes. Will definitely make again, especially for people with milk/egg allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States