Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Completely delicious!!! Did everything according to recipe except I made a dozen rather large cupakes baking for 20min @ 350. Used a vegan friendly caramel buttercream to finish them off. I'm so happy with the result. These will be made time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made an ORANGE CAKE instead of chocolate and it was wonderful. I substituted half the water for orange juice. I took out the cocoa powder and added orange rind. The result was a delicious! Moist, not to sweet and perfectly dense. Thanks for the recipe!! Also just tried making the chocolate version. Used coconut oil and balsamic as suggested by someone else. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Loved the recipe. I did as others did and substituted a couple of ingredients. I used 1 cup of coconut sugar instead of 1 cup of cane sugar as it does not raise your blood sugar according to the Dr. Oz show. Also used 1/2 cup of dark unsweetened cocoa powder instead of 1/3 cup. Used balsamic vinegar instead of white vinegar as someone else suggested. Instead of 1 cup of water, I used 1 cup of canned coconut milk. Also substituted whole wheat flour for the white flour. They came out dense and quite chocolatey. If you want more chocolate richness, try adding vegan chocolate chips. For frosting I used Earth Balance buttery vegan spread, real vanilla, cocoa powder and vegan icing sugar. Makes an unbelievably awesome and creamy icing. Even my friends who love to eat dairy cannot believe this cupcake and icing are egg and dairy free. My next experiment will be to substitute the whole wheat flour with 1 cup of brown rice flour and 1/2 cup of almond flour as someone in these reviews suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
It bakes up really well. For some reason I needed about a tablespoon more liquid, so I just added more oil, but it was great and rose up well. Tastes great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made these last minute for one of my vegan friend's birthday and she LOVED them. These are fantastic. This was my first time baking vegan and I must admit that I was quite nervous. I double the recipe because there would be a lot of kids to feed and they all loved them. Super moist and perfect. I used one batch of this vegan frosting recipe for my two batches of cupcakes: http://dairyfreecooking.about.com/od/sweetsaucesfrostings/r/chocfrost.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Awesome cake! I could make one of these every day. Super fast and easy, even if it takes a little while to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reestronaut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Turned out great - I used balsamic vinegar and a buttercream frosting. Great for folks who can't eat dairy or egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is a great chocolatey cake "loaf"! I baked as instructions said, in a 9x5 loaf pan, which makes for perfect snacks by the slice. I substituted the oil with 1/4 cup of ground flaxseed and 1 T butter, and this turned out just as I had hoped. It's perfectly chocolatey but not overly sweet, with a nice cakey but not too crumbly consistency. Mine was done in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is indeed a great recipe. I am not sure if I left a review previously or not, but here it is again. One thing to note (other reviewers also made similar comments), to be truly vegan, the sugar used should not be white/refined. For those that may not be aware, the bright white in commercial sugar is achieved by filtering granules through animal bones (at many factories); for 'ethical' vegans, this would be unacceptable. For those who just want a dairy-less/egg-less cake, then white sugar is fine. I have made this cake numerous times now, and use raw cane sugar (which is slightly brown as it is unrefined) or similar sugar. It imparts great flavor, trace minerals, etc. I have added instant or liquid coffee to the cake and/or the icing, for an extra twist! I use Earth Balance vegan spread (whipped or cubed form) for the icing (separate recipe). The cake is a little denser than what comes from a boxed cake batter, but not quite as dense as a brownie. I use a wire whisk to blend the ingredients and I also sift (after measuring) to remove lumps. Before pouring the batter into the baking dish, you will see bubbles forming - the reaction of the vinegar and baking soda - what makes the cake rise! Great recipe, enjoy! p.s. I am curious how this recipe would come out using Stevia as a sweetener!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Wow! A really easy chocolate cake!! I had tried 4 other recipes for my little girls birthday party but this one won hands down!!!! I used cane sugar, we dont use white sugar, and the result was brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States