Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Every time I offer to bake for my sister, she requests the "vinegar brownies"! This cake is so rich that we call it brownies, but not so rich that you can't stomach it. The balance of sweetness is perfect and no one every believes me when I tell them it's vegan. I like to make it in my mini cupcake tin, and they come out just right for a bite size dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This recipe was very quick and easy! I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I almost didn't believe all the rave reviews but this cake is phenomenal! I'm not vegan just fresh out of eggs and an incredible craving for chocolate cake. Problem solved and I'll never make chocolate cake with eggs again. I used balsamic like someone else had suggested, well because I love chocolate gelato drizzled with balsamic. Don't hesitate to try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Monique Cabral

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Found receipe for forks over knives diet. Replaced oil with FF yogurt, used WW flour, cut sugar to 3/4 c. ( raw instead of white), increased cocoa to 1/2 c. and added about 1/4 c almond milk. Great sweet taste, could try even more almond milk and less sugar. Topped with sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe and it tastes amazing! I loved it : - )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made two cakes in loaf pans and took them to work. Everyone loved it. They were shocked it was vegan. I am lactose intolerant, but not vegan, and this recipe gave me a chance to have some WONDERFUL cake without illness resulting. The cake was dense, rich, chocolatey. I added a sprinkle of chili powder to the batter for a little kick. It really added depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I decided to try this cake using rice flour as suggested in the original post. Even my family that specifically asked for a gluten free vegan cake did not like it. Perhaps it would be better with regular flour but....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This cake was really good! We followed the recipe as written. I just doubled it to make a big batch of cupcakes (27 cupcakes from the double batch). I made a cookie crust, topped it with chocolate chips. Baked the crust for 8 minutes, let cool. Then add the cupcake batter on top and bake. Then, topped with a marshmallow (vegan ones are great!) and "roasted" it in the oven for a short bit. It's like a cupcake s'more. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justin Crawley
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This is the first cake I've ever baked and it turned out awesome. So easy to make. I doubled the recipe to make two 9 inch round cakes with dark choc chips and a peanut butter filling, only subs were - cider vinegar and soft light brown sugar. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Crawley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newport, Isle Of Wight, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emichel22
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Loves these recipe I did alter it a little. I only added half the sugar recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States