Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Trying it for first time and we'll see. Used white whole wheat flour , Hershey cocoa special dark edition (about 3/4 cup since im doubling the recipe for a 9 x 11 pan lined with parchment paper) and raspberry balsamic vinegar we bought at Figones in Napa Valley. Also used coffee instead of water and the Mediterranean blend oil from Costco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I am not a baker, but found this recipe easy to make. Always use king Arthur flour for best results- I use organic unbleached all purpose. Made glaze w 1 tbs. almond vanilla milk and 1/2 c confectioner sugar stirred together. Drizzle on cake and top w chopped walnuts sprinkled on top. Still vegan ( For my guest) but also delicious topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this last night as cuppcakes. May I just say this recipe was awful! They wouldn't come out of the parer, I had to use a knife. The insides were raw and the outsides were burnt. I will not be making this recipe again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This recipe is called crazy cake. It's been around since the depression. You can also omit the cocoa add orange zest and replace the water with orange juice to make an orange flavored cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MESIII

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Tinmouth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This recipe has the potential to be a great recipe with a few minor alterations. I think this cake lacks a chocolate flavor. It would be better if you add another 1/4 cup of cocoa powder. The texture is great, just a little crumbly. I think it's because of the lack of eggs. Overall it's a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Amazing recipe I love this its very easy to make and I don't need eggs or milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
LOVE this cake! I amke it for my vegan friends and my non-vegan friends. I take it to church for our pot luck lunches and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Perfect. I use a 9" cake pan and bake 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was my first attempt at vegan baking, and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieW1987

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This cake is perfect: you would never know it's vegan. I made it with KADart05's suggested vegan frosting and it was awesome. I later baked this batter as cupcakes, which only took about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrawberrySmoothie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 518) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States