Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Fantastic! I made this recipe as cupcakes for my sister's birthday party for her vegan husband. I had baked a regular birthday cake for my sister but I wanted my brother in law to have something sweet to finish off the meal, too. Well, they were a huge hit! I did change the recipe a bit: I increased it to 1/3 cup of cocoa powder, added 2 teaspoons of vanilla not just 1 and substituted balsamic vinegar for the white vinegar and it was delicious! After they cooled, I just dusted the top with a bit of powdered sugar and my brother in law loved it. He said that usually vegan baked goods leave a lot to be desired but he said these were "fantastic." Even the meat- and dairy-eaters among loved them. I made them again for a dinner party we're having tonight and they are just as tasty as they were the first time. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is a great recipe. I am not a vegan but my other family members are so I made this cake to please everyone. It was a big hit. Although I did tweek it a bit. I used coconut milk in place of the water. Plus poked holes in the baked cake and pored more coconut milk over it to add moisture. I also doubled the recipe and made it a layer cake with a vegan coconut frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Had I not made it myself, I would've sworn it wasn't vegan. I used melted coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and doubled the cocoa powder. Best chocolate cake I've ever had, let alone made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I am a professional, old school butter baker and I certainly could not imagine baking cake without eggs. But I needed a vegan recipe for cupcakes. This recipe stunned me! It was easy, inexpensive, they raised beautifully. They tasted identical to the deliciously dark recipe on the Hershey's cocoa box. I think I may just make this my official chocolate cake for my shop. I did use Hershey's dark cocoa (I doubled the amount though ). I used hot coffee instead of water. This worked. I made a simple peanut butter icing with shortening and margarine and powdered sugar. I drizzled them with dark chocolate and sprinkled with crushed peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These made amazing cupcakes. My daughter is allergic to dairy, nuts & eggs & is going to a birthday party tomorrow. I made these so she will have be able to eat cake too :) I did the following mod's: 3/4 cup sugar rather than 1 cup 1/3 cup apple sauce instead of vegetable oil 1 cup sunflower milk instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanniemare
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I just made this for my daughter and it is delicious! I had my doubts, but I was wrong. I used 3/4 cup of organic sugar instead of white sugar and it turned out great. Used vegetable shortening, water, icing sugar and almond flavoring for frosting - very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Tough and dry. I followed the recipe to the letter.... no substitutions or free-spirit alterations. Saved only by the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very delicious! I've made them several times and people were shocked they were vegan. For frosting I melt vegan chocolate chips with a little coconut oil, add a little rice milk and beat in powder sugar and together they are my favorite chocolate cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I give it a 5, rarely do I do this, because it's just excellent for the chocolate lovers in my house who are under a certain diet. I did follow the advice of Abztrakt, except I used a Pomegranate Balsamic Vinegar instead. The result was pure chocolate delight paired with fat free chocolate pudding. Thanks to this recipe I can satisfy the chocolate cravings in my house! in other words, a total sweet-tooth lifesaver. The smell that took over my house had neighbors knocking :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Gonzalez (Marifer)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Amazing cake make it all the time!!!! Was wondering if i could simply replace the cocoa powder with coconut flakes or apple for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States