Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I clearly did something wrong, mine was dry and crumbly??? I used coconut flour, could this be why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This cake is off the hook...the very best chocolate cake EVER!! Chocolatey & fudgy... Delicious whether you are vegan or not. I top mine with vegan chocolate ganache or if no vegan guests, regular chocolate ganache... Awesome! I double the recipe and do three 8" layers.... It also tastes better and better as time goes by....if it lasts that long! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My first attempt at a vegan cake. This was so easy to make and extremely delicious. I doubled the recipe and used boiling water instead of room temperature water. I also used two teaspoons of instant coffee. I used two 9 inch round cake pans to make a double layer cake. It took approximately 35 mins to bake. Try it, you will not be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bundt pan. I added about 20 minutes to the cooking time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I do love a recipe that can act as a base for embellishment - and this is one of them. I really like dark chocolate and Mexican chocolate flavorings, so I used 2/3c chocolate, about 1.5 tps of cinnamon and a generous couple of shakes of a low-heat cayenne, doubled the vanilla & added a dash of almond extract. Also, I find applesauce to be a really important binder in vegan baked goods, so I cut the water in half and added a cup of applesauce. Came out divine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Delish! I used whole wheat flour and brown sugar instead of white and they were still heavenly - with a dab of vegan buttercream frosting they are irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Completely delicious!!! Did everything according to recipe except I made a dozen rather large cupakes baking for 20min @ 350. Used a vegan friendly caramel buttercream to finish them off. I'm so happy with the result. These will be made time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made an ORANGE CAKE instead of chocolate and it was wonderful. I substituted half the water for orange juice. I took out the cocoa powder and added orange rind. The result was a delicious! Moist, not to sweet and perfectly dense. Thanks for the recipe!! Also just tried making the chocolate version. Used coconut oil and balsamic as suggested by someone else. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Loved the recipe. I did as others did and substituted a couple of ingredients. I used 1 cup of coconut sugar instead of 1 cup of cane sugar as it does not raise your blood sugar according to the Dr. Oz show. Also used 1/2 cup of dark unsweetened cocoa powder instead of 1/3 cup. Used balsamic vinegar instead of white vinegar as someone else suggested. Instead of 1 cup of water, I used 1 cup of canned coconut milk. Also substituted whole wheat flour for the white flour. They came out dense and quite chocolatey. If you want more chocolate richness, try adding vegan chocolate chips. For frosting I used Earth Balance buttery vegan spread, real vanilla, cocoa powder and vegan icing sugar. Makes an unbelievably awesome and creamy icing. Even my friends who love to eat dairy cannot believe this cupcake and icing are egg and dairy free. My next experiment will be to substitute the whole wheat flour with 1 cup of brown rice flour and 1/2 cup of almond flour as someone in these reviews suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
It bakes up really well. For some reason I needed about a tablespoon more liquid, so I just added more oil, but it was great and rose up well. Tastes great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States