Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mac n cheese
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
YUMMY! This cake came out tasty and moist. I am new to this vegan way of eating. I decided to take the plunge and bake this cake for my sons First Birthday Party. I was nervous how it would turn out without a trial run but I followed the reviews and changed a few things and came out wonderfully! Everyone loved it! Here's what I did differently; - I doubled the recipe to make 2 9" rounds for a two layer cake. - I used organic cane sugar instead of white sugar - I added a few pinches of brown sugar - I used Balsamic Vinegar instead of white vinegar - I used half veg. oil & half Olive oil - I added a teaspoon of cinnamon - I doubled the amount of cocoa powder - I added a small handful of vegan chocolate chips - Lastly, I only cooked for about 30 minutes (35 minutes the second time) I, originally, was going to use vegan chocolate frosting. But it came out pretty chocolaty and sweet. I thought that it would be 'too much' chocolate. So I decided on a vegan buttercream frosting. I topped with raspberries and it came out perfectly! This time I just baked another one and experimented with a little less sugar, a little less cocoa and a 1.5 cups of water and a half a cup of brewed coffee to make up for the liquid (again this is all doubled for two cakes). We will see how it turns out..I might even do raspberry preserves in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejones81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Good cupcakes. I used balsamic vinegar and added some cayenne to half the batch. It was great. I made a vegan ganache with semi-sweet chocolate and coconut milk to frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Following the recipe for the cake batter, I tried making cupcakes instead of just one cake and even baking for 25 min was just a bit too much. I'd recommend closer to 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I clearly did something wrong, mine was dry and crumbly??? I used coconut flour, could this be why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This cake is off the hook...the very best chocolate cake EVER!! Chocolatey & fudgy... Delicious whether you are vegan or not. I top mine with vegan chocolate ganache or if no vegan guests, regular chocolate ganache... Awesome! I double the recipe and do three 8" layers.... It also tastes better and better as time goes by....if it lasts that long! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My first attempt at a vegan cake. This was so easy to make and extremely delicious. I doubled the recipe and used boiling water instead of room temperature water. I also used two teaspoons of instant coffee. I used two 9 inch round cake pans to make a double layer cake. It took approximately 35 mins to bake. Try it, you will not be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bundt pan. I added about 20 minutes to the cooking time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I do love a recipe that can act as a base for embellishment - and this is one of them. I really like dark chocolate and Mexican chocolate flavorings, so I used 2/3c chocolate, about 1.5 tps of cinnamon and a generous couple of shakes of a low-heat cayenne, doubled the vanilla & added a dash of almond extract. Also, I find applesauce to be a really important binder in vegan baked goods, so I cut the water in half and added a cup of applesauce. Came out divine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Delish! I used whole wheat flour and brown sugar instead of white and they were still heavenly - with a dab of vegan buttercream frosting they are irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States