Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is a great chocolatey cake "loaf"! I baked as instructions said, in a 9x5 loaf pan, which makes for perfect snacks by the slice. I substituted the oil with 1/4 cup of ground flaxseed and 1 T butter, and this turned out just as I had hoped. It's perfectly chocolatey but not overly sweet, with a nice cakey but not too crumbly consistency. Mine was done in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is indeed a great recipe. I am not sure if I left a review previously or not, but here it is again. One thing to note (other reviewers also made similar comments), to be truly vegan, the sugar used should not be white/refined. For those that may not be aware, the bright white in commercial sugar is achieved by filtering granules through animal bones (at many factories); for 'ethical' vegans, this would be unacceptable. For those who just want a dairy-less/egg-less cake, then white sugar is fine. I have made this cake numerous times now, and use raw cane sugar (which is slightly brown as it is unrefined) or similar sugar. It imparts great flavor, trace minerals, etc. I have added instant or liquid coffee to the cake and/or the icing, for an extra twist! I use Earth Balance vegan spread (whipped or cubed form) for the icing (separate recipe). The cake is a little denser than what comes from a boxed cake batter, but not quite as dense as a brownie. I use a wire whisk to blend the ingredients and I also sift (after measuring) to remove lumps. Before pouring the batter into the baking dish, you will see bubbles forming - the reaction of the vinegar and baking soda - what makes the cake rise! Great recipe, enjoy! p.s. I am curious how this recipe would come out using Stevia as a sweetener!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Wow! A really easy chocolate cake!! I had tried 4 other recipes for my little girls birthday party but this one won hands down!!!! I used cane sugar, we dont use white sugar, and the result was brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a very good chocolate cake. I make it for my son who is vegan. My grandchildren love this recipe just because its so good1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made 12 cupcakes and took them out 15min earlier. Perfect. Love this receipie and normally have everything I need in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I double this recipe to use in a bundt pan and then make a simple glaze from powdered sugar and orange juice. It's become my favorite cake to take to big family get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harleyquin02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This cake recipe is very versatile. I baked this in a swiss roll pan, for 12-15 minutes and then turned it out onto parchment paper dusted with cocoa powder and rolled it up while it was hot and let it cool completely. I used a simple vegan vanilla frosting as the filling. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this recipe and changed 1/4 cup cocoa to 1/2 cup cocoa. I used a whole teaspoon of salt instead of 1/2 tsp. And I made cupcakes and baked for 20 minutes at 350 degrees F. I made a frosting of 1/4 cup vegan margarine, 1/4 cup vegan shortening, 1 and 3/4 cups powdered sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, 1/8 cup soy milk. Whip the fats until fluffy, add the sugar and beat for 2 minutes. Add the vanilla and soy milk and whip for 5-6 minutes. I added some cherry pie filling in the middle of each cupcake after I frosted them and passed the rest in a bowl. These have to be kept chilled or the frosting turns too soft. You would not know they were vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yummy cake; very moist! I used balsamic vinegar and a dash of cayenne. Turned out great, and got wonderful reviews from my husband, three year old, and co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe was good when eaten right away. Leftovers the next day were very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by padecakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 518) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States