Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Quick, simple, and tasted delicious. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and replaced half of the vanilla extract with almond extract. It tasted great even without any frosting, nuts, or sprinkles added. I'll definitely be using this recipe again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
My son has a dairy and egg allergy. I made these for his birthday and frosted with Duncan Hines whipped chocolate frosting which didn't have milk. I made cupcakes and the only changes I made was doubling the cocoa and adding 1/2 cup of vegan chocolate chips. My 4 yr old loved them as did I! It was really like the real thing, no joke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Delicious...Delicious...Delicious...no one ever believes me when I say it is vegan. The recipe is perfect as written, but I do tend to use about 1/2 cup more of cocoa powder, a little over 1/3 cup of oil and 1 tbs. vanilla...don't hesitate to make this it is scrumptious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakelove1235

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this for my 2 y.o niece as a trial birthday cake since she is allergic to egg. I followed the recipe, substituting white sugar for cane sugar, APF for unbleached white flour, and vegetable oil for olive oil. Everyone loved the flavor, but thought it was a little dry (hence 4 stars instead of 5). I only cooked in the oven for 40 minutes and if I had gone the full 45 this would have been burned. Perhaps the author of the recipe is in a higher elevation and 45 minutes was appropriate for them. My elevation only being, 1,243 I will try this again and start testing doneness at 30 minutes. I may even add a TBS or two of applesauce for added moisture. I served this frosted with a chocolate glaze recipe found on a different site, raspberry sauce found here on Allrecipes, and homemade whipped cream sweetened with agave. My husband isn't really a chocolate on chocolate guy and really appreciated the raspberry sauce to break things up. My niece had never had cake before, due to her allergy, and kept asking for "more pancake please" while she was grasping toward the bowl that was out of her reach with her cake in it. It was really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Good, but I felt it was lacking something. Just didn't have that intense chocolate flavor I was looking for. My kids liked it, but did say it didn't taste like chocolate cake. Maybe more cocoa or some melted butter instead of oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
These cupcakes are amazing! extremely moist and light. Adding a bit of coffee makes a WORLD of difference and enhances the chocolate flavor to perfection! I'm making these for my sister's wedding and I'm sure they'll be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Thank you so much for posting this receipe! It is really difficult to find great vegan receipes that are as delicious as the "real" thing. This one is even better! My husband is allergic to dairy products and hasn't had a chocolate cake for years. He was so excited when I surprised him with this cake. It was absolutely delicious!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Delicious, moist, and so quick and easy to make! I doubled the amount of cocoa for a rich, dark chocolate flavor and it turned out perfect. My husband had no idea it was vegan and loved every bite. I did top it with a simple chocolate glaze I made from sugar, soy milk, margarine, cocoa, and vanilla, but next time for a lighter-tasting option I want to try topping it with fresh berries and whipped cream. My mom has made this cake and topped it with a fruit glaze made by reducing raspberry preserves with fruit juice and it's delicious that way as well. Lots of possibilities! Also, I live at high altitude (6000+ ft) and didn't have to adjust the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I am a professional baker and I used this recipe for my daughter's birthday cake yesterday. Everyone loved the cake, it was so moist and good. I will definitely use this recipe again and for my customers also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This was so simple to make and very delicious! I'll make it again, even for my non-vegan friends. I used the Vegan Friendly Caramel Buttercream icing recipe, which was fantastic. Chopped pecans on top made it pretty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States