Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe ever! I almost always make these to take to birthday parties. I always make them the night before I plan to eat them. They are good on the day you bake them, but they are perfect the day after. They get so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I am wondering what the vinegar is for? I could taste it & so I quess i will try it without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Stellar cake! Had to use raw, organic sugar to make sure it hadn't undergone the bone char method to ensure it remained vegan-friendly and used organic balsamic vinegar in place of the distilled white. Added double the cocoa as I'm a chocolate fiend and just a touch of cayenne. Baked in a 9 inch round for 35 minutes. Perfect and lovely. All the omnivores thoroughly enjoyed it even after it was revealed to be a vegan recipe. Very easy and quick to make which puts this recipe on the top list of baking recipes when I'm in a pinch. Made the vegan "butter cream" for this but icing/frosting of any type really isn't necessary at all. Wonderful flavor on its own. Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miscibility

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Wasn't the best cupcake , it was really dry and wasn't sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Used this recipe as stated and it came out great! Moist, fluffy, and delicious. Very easy too. Love it, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmin Fonggrasin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I absolutely loved this chocolate cake recipe. We have family that are vegans and don't even like sweets... but they ate three each. Every single person that tried these were dumbfounded when they heard they were vegan. However, I have found that if you use apple cider vinegar instead of distilled white vinegar it seems to have a lighter, sweeter taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I have also seen this called Depression cake. It is a great cake and always gets nods of approval when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Every time I offer to bake for my sister, she requests the "vinegar brownies"! This cake is so rich that we call it brownies, but not so rich that you can't stomach it. The balance of sweetness is perfect and no one every believes me when I tell them it's vegan. I like to make it in my mini cupcake tin, and they come out just right for a bite size dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Love this recipe. So easy and quick. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I almost didn't believe all the rave reviews but this cake is phenomenal! I'm not vegan just fresh out of eggs and an incredible craving for chocolate cake. Problem solved and I'll never make chocolate cake with eggs again. I used balsamic like someone else had suggested, well because I love chocolate gelato drizzled with balsamic. Don't hesitate to try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Monique Cabral

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States