Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made two cakes in loaf pans and took them to work. Everyone loved it. They were shocked it was vegan. I am lactose intolerant, but not vegan, and this recipe gave me a chance to have some WONDERFUL cake without illness resulting. The cake was dense, rich, chocolatey. I added a sprinkle of chili powder to the batter for a little kick. It really added depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I decided to try this cake using rice flour as suggested in the original post. Even my family that specifically asked for a gluten free vegan cake did not like it. Perhaps it would be better with regular flour but....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This cake was really good! We followed the recipe as written. I just doubled it to make a big batch of cupcakes (27 cupcakes from the double batch). I made a cookie crust, topped it with chocolate chips. Baked the crust for 8 minutes, let cool. Then add the cupcake batter on top and bake. Then, topped with a marshmallow (vegan ones are great!) and "roasted" it in the oven for a short bit. It's like a cupcake s'more. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justin Crawley
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This is the first cake I've ever baked and it turned out awesome. So easy to make. I doubled the recipe to make two 9 inch round cakes with dark choc chips and a peanut butter filling, only subs were - cider vinegar and soft light brown sugar. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Crawley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newport, Isle Of Wight, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emichel22
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Loves these recipe I did alter it a little. I only added half the sugar recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe was amazing! I didnt add as much oil as it said, partly because i didnt have enough. It came out very moist. I made them as cupcakes and baked them for 25 minutes at the same temperature. Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This recipe is stupendous! I have made it twice (as cupcakes both times). I first made it for my daughter's second birthday party. Everyone loved them and half the guests asked me for the recipe. They are moist and rich and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Cranson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I love this recipe. My sister made it for a potluck and I snuck a few. Delish! Now I made my own and turned it into cupcakes. I made a sweet vegan icing with powdered sugar, orange juice, and cocoa powder. To. Die. For. Not too dense or sweet either like a lot of vegan cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashana Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is A 0 Cholesterol dessert! I used coconut oil for the oil and made a frosting with coconut oil and almond milk and Powdered sugar. I love this cake more than most choc cakes. I did up the cocoa to a half cup and added an extra tablespoon water. Yum it is soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Zimmerman
Home Town: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
A little bread like, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States