Vegan Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
The key to this cheesecake is to let it sit in the refrigerator overnight, otherwise all you can taste is the tofu. Once the flavours have blended together i.e. once the sugar and vanilla have totally "infiltrated" the tofu, this pie is marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2000
This tastes almost exactly like the real thing!! For me as a vegan, I love being able to have cheesecake without eating dairy. I also found that if you don't have maple syrup or you want a different flavor, fruit flavored pancake syrup works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
i brought this vegan cheesecake to our family Easter celebration last year and all the NON vegan went nuts over it too! it's delicious, i always have to cook a bit longer till its not runny in the middle, but it's worth it!! best with the graham crust! SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
This cake is absolutely delicious, although it tastes more like a sort of custard than a cheesecake. I baked mine closer to 45 mins, rather than 30 as the recipe suggests, because when I looked in the oven after 30 minutes, it was still really pale. Anyway, it turned out beautiful, and I can't believe how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
WAY BETTER than normal cheesecake. I've made this several times and everyone loves it (even the kids who will never eat my cooking). To fix the texture issues others have mentioned, I used either medium or firm tofu (both worked), added a few tbsp flour, and backed WAY longer than specified (almost 50 minutes with medium tofu). Also decreased the sugar a tad and sometimes add a splash of lemon juice to liven it up a bit. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This is excellent -- even the cheese-eaters loved it! I used half soft and half firm tofu, and also added a Tbsp of flour and a tsp of lemon juice, and used a pre-made shortbread crust. I made a simple berry sauce for the top. Unbelievably easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
WOW...I ended up baking it for 50 minutes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Good cheesecake, except next time I will use less vanilla extract. In place of the maple syrup I used strawberry syrup. Not bad. I used silken firm tofu and the texture turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I was very happy with this recipe! After doubting the maple syrup and reading negative comments about it, I changed the 1/4 cup maple syrup to 1/4 cup smashed banana. I cooked it for about 50 minutes, let it cool, drizzled lemon juice all over, and let it sit overnight, then topped with toasted coconut. It made a dreamy, creamy, banana/coconut cream combo. Divine! Not a cheesecake in the least, but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxanapeace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baker, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Fantastic! I used firm tofu, succanate sugar(dehydrated cane juice)and a shortbread crust and it is absolutely delicious. A little sweet, could cut sugar to 1/4 cup. Also, agree with cooking longer 50 min. Great recipe and it's nice and easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States