Vegan Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
the problem that everyone has with the cheesecake being runny is mostly attributed to the tofu. you need to press the tofu and remove a lot of its excess moisture prior to using it in the recipe. just draining the water from the tofu package isnt enough. after removing the tofu from the package and rinsing it off, wrap the tofu in some thick paper towels. then press down on the tofu, not so hard that it squishes, just enough to moisten the paper towels and remove some excess moisture. you may have to do this a few times over before youve removed a sufficient amount of water from the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This recipe, while delicious, is NOT vegan. Graham Crackers are made with honey, and thus not a vegan option. When I make this recipe I just line the finished cake with slivered almonds and unsweetened coconut. Please don't feed vegans graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
WAY BETTER than normal cheesecake. I've made this several times and everyone loves it (even the kids who will never eat my cooking). To fix the texture issues others have mentioned, I used either medium or firm tofu (both worked), added a few tbsp flour, and backed WAY longer than specified (almost 50 minutes with medium tofu). Also decreased the sugar a tad and sometimes add a splash of lemon juice to liven it up a bit. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This is excellent -- even the cheese-eaters loved it! I used half soft and half firm tofu, and also added a Tbsp of flour and a tsp of lemon juice, and used a pre-made shortbread crust. I made a simple berry sauce for the top. Unbelievably easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
WOW...I ended up baking it for 50 minutes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
very easy but i did NOT like the overwhelming syrupy/vanilla-y taste. if i make it again, i will reduce both very much and add fruit to sweeten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
i brought this vegan cheesecake to our family Easter celebration last year and all the NON vegan went nuts over it too! it's delicious, i always have to cook a bit longer till its not runny in the middle, but it's worth it!! best with the graham crust! SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
Outstanding! This really tastes like the real thing. I am going to try it next with orange flavoring instead of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
This cake is absolutely delicious, although it tastes more like a sort of custard than a cheesecake. I baked mine closer to 45 mins, rather than 30 as the recipe suggests, because when I looked in the oven after 30 minutes, it was still really pale. Anyway, it turned out beautiful, and I can't believe how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2000
This tastes almost exactly like the real thing!! For me as a vegan, I love being able to have cheesecake without eating dairy. I also found that if you don't have maple syrup or you want a different flavor, fruit flavored pancake syrup works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States