Vegan Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This tasted just like sweet tofu--which is basically all it is. If you don't like tofu, don't even try this recipe. If you do, it's pretty tasty. If it wasn't for the crust, though, it'd have gotten 2 stars. Might have gotten 4 stars if I wasn't thrown off by somehow expecting this very simple recipe to be reminiscent of cheesecake... it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This recipe did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
WOW...I ended up baking it for 50 minutes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I'm not too sure about this recipe. It didn't taste like cheesecake to me at all. I mostly tasted maple syrup and the texture wasn't like a cheesecake. It was light and whippy, not creamy like cheesecake. Maybe it's because I used firm tofu? I was hoping this would turn out like I expected. I ate one piece and the rest of it sat in the fridge for a week. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
No. Just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VA.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I think I may have put a little too much sugar in - mine turned out very sweet. It was also almost bread-pudding like in texture. Tasty, but not quite what I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I used a digestive crumb base and added flour and lemon juice like other reviewers suggested, and honey since I didn't have any maple syrup. The flavour was good, but I was hoping for a creamier texture. Maybe using firm tofu would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was yummy, but came out more like a custard. I made it with firm (not extra firm, just firm) tofu, which may have made it too dense. It also was much sweeter than cheesecake. I'm a little baffled. This is a good dessert (and not terribly bad for you either), but just didn't come out anything like cheesecake for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This is excellent -- even the cheese-eaters loved it! I used half soft and half firm tofu, and also added a Tbsp of flour and a tsp of lemon juice, and used a pre-made shortbread crust. I made a simple berry sauce for the top. Unbelievably easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
I did not like this recipe at all. It was grainy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States