Vegan Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tobietamiko
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was my first time making an actual cheesecake, but it was so easy to just put everything into a blender. Very fast, and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I drained the tofu and baked for fifty minutes. I substituted xylitol and eriythilol (however that is spelled) for the sugar and I'm really pleased. I'm making it again and adding in pumpkin puree. This cheesecake is good as is and also a great base for variations. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was just eh for us. I didn't think it tasted like cheesecake (yes more like a custartd), my dairy-allergic daugher (who's never had real cheesecake) didn't like it that much, won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this last night & the flavor/texture when cooled were very unappealing. I tried it again today & it was much better. Make the day before! If you have someone with milk allergies this might be a nice treat for them... with fruit topping or maybe some walnuts. However, anyone who can have milk will only say they like it to be nice! Also~ mine baked 45 mins. before it was set. Normally I skip crusts, but decided to try one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The flavor & texture were much more like a custard than cheesecake. But it tasted great. It did require almost an hr. of baking time to get it to set. After cooling I refrigerated it overnight and served it with cherry pie topping. The tartness of the cherries balanced out the sweetness of the cheesecake nicely. Thanks for posting this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
good cake/pie in itself but not cheesecake or vegan...as someone else pointed out about the crust. Vegan cookie crusts can be found at Whole Foods or made from scratch. I added a splash of lemon juice and some nutritional yeast to get a cheesey flavor. The maple syrup adds a nice flavor too...if you use the real deal. Good toped with spiced apples/pears instead of berries with the heavy maple influence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I usually don't rate when I alter a recipe, but I really liked this one. I followed other reviewers suggestions and used well drained firm tofu. Also, instead of the soy milk, I used vanilla almond milk and a little lest of the vanilla extract. I also baked it for 50 minutes. The texture of the pie was really wonderful, but I'm not a fan of the taste of tofu and I could still distinctly taste it. But because this recipe is so easy and I liked the texture, I'm going to try it agin with other alterations, maybe adding some banana or, like another reviewer said, lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahkim
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Pretty good recipe. It did take on the flavor of the maple syrup, but not bad for a vegan cheesecake! But I decorated the entire surface of the cheesecake with blueberries and strawberries which may have helped with the flavor (see picture). One of the reviews said that graham crackers were not vegan so I used sugar cookies instead for the crust.. I also used FIRM tofu which helped with the custard-like texture like another review said, but better custard-y then runny! :) Since the tofu is going to be blended anyways go ahead and squish that tofu up to remove the excess water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
My brother who is a dairy-eating, meat-eating regular guy calls this "delicious pie" He almost ate the whole thing. I, who am an always-vegetarian/ 80% vegan ( still can't always find vegan options with my lifestyle) ADORE this. You can make it with stevia instead of sugar and cut down on some of the calories. Tip: Be sure to drain the tofu properly (press it on some papertowels ( put a papertowels, a cookbook, and a heavy can on top, and papertowels on the bottom) to avoid your pie/ cake getting runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawbakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windham, New York, USA
Living In: Athens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
although others have different opinions... they do make vegan gramcrackers and you may want to use stevia and agav nectar as an alternative... but all in all good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States