Vegan Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used sweet potatoes and no ginger. Tastes heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was a big hit, but I also tweaked it a bit: I added a fistful of chopped fresh coriander/cilantro,2 stalks of celery, some cumin and nutmeg. Our vegan visitor was very pleased... and I was happily surprised as I'd normally want to add butter/cream and other vegan no-nos. Season it to your own taste. A great winter warmer (it actually started snowing while we were eating)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This soup was very thick and filling. The ginger compliments the soup and I am certainly satisfied after eating one serving. I would have liked the curry taste to be more pronounced, but it fit just right. I recommend following it with a small green salad, as the soup left a starchy sensation in my mouth. If you use fresh ingrediants, and follow the recipe, you will be pleased with this sublty flavored and filling dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This soup was great the only adjustments I made was I used baby red potatoes and I added some oregano. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This soup is great. Im vegan, so its great to find great recipes like this one. Even my non-vegan family liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I thought this was great. Though some complain it's too thick for soup, i guess it depends on what you deem soup thickness needs to be. I used 4 large potatoes, then again i think i used 6 carrots, got rid of the ginger and doubled the curry. I'm not sure how anyone could say it wasn't filling...it is a really thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This had a nice kick with the fresh ginger and cayenne powder. I also added more water besides the broth like others recommended to give it more of a soup consistency. Also, since I didn't have "new" potatoes on hand, I used two med. white potatoes. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkiemi19

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
this is very similar to the carrot soup that i make; the only difference is that i do not use vegetable broth. also, i only use one potato, unless they happened to be very small potatoes, like reds or something, but russets? i can't imagine using more than one. instead of broth i just use water, and enough water to cover all the vegetables (thus making a broth) and when everything is tender, then puree. i have had a couple variations, using ginger, adding cinnamon, incorporating a 1/4 cup coconut milk or less to the mix and garnishing with cilantro and green onions. makes enough for days or a family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I found the idea of adding curry and fresh ginger attractive so I decided to make the soup...it came out all rite...my son found it a bit spicy so I added some milk as well. I thought five potatoes would be too much so I used one instead. Thanks for the recipe of this great carrot soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
this soup was good but my kids were not satisfide like when they normaly have soup my wife said it was not filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bugibba, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States