Vegan Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I used honey instead of sugar and nutmeg instead of cloves and the taste was really good. Although I had to bake my cake for an hour..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is a very good recipe! I didn't have all of the ingredients so I made a few substitutions. -Out of cloves, tried pumpkin pie spice -No soy flour, I tried oatmeal for fun -Out of almonds, used walnut pieces I didn't use the currants or tapioca starch. The recipe turned out very well! Excellent base recipe with good recommendations. Next time I'll try to have everything listed and see how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used white flour since that's what I had on hand. I also cut the sugar in half, replaced the cloves with nutmeg, and currants with raisins. I didn't add any of the other optional ingredients. With the suggestions of others it turns out well, although I forgot to take into consideration of the suggestion of one reviewer to cut the baking soda in half. It's not too strong, but it is slightly noticeable. I love the base of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made this cake without icing so it was more of a carrot/spice bread and it was great (even non-vegans loved it!) with the following changes: -I did not add any of the optional ingredients. -I used half of the brown sugar (1 cup) and half of the suggested baking soda. -I also used one whole ripe banana, mashed with the sugar and vanilla, instead of flax seed and water. -Lastly, I added about 3/4 cup of raisins instead of currants and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
i like to use local ingredients when i bake and i was missing a lot of them for this cakes recipe but its still vegan. this is what i ended up putting together ingredients: 2cups flour, 2 tsp cinnamon, 1tsp clove,2tsp baking soda, 1/2tsp salt, 1cup hot water, 1 3/4cups sugar, 2tsp vanilla, 1/2cup walnuts, 1/2cup vegetable oil, 5 carrots. The cakes actually really delicious and moist with a nice crisp layer, the carrots are about half the recipe! maybe you can say it was too moist although i still really enjoy it. i would like to try again without the oil (which i kinda added as a nervous reaction to the cake not coming out cake like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Good with some adjustments. I followed the advice from other reviewers and only used one cup of sugar and it was plenty sweet. I didn't use any soy or tapioca since I don't have them, but I added raisins instead of currants. I cut way back on the cloves, added fresh nutmeg. I also used about half the baking soda and added a tsp of baking powder, plus a couple of Tbsp of oil. Turned out very good, perfect texture and alot lighter than my "traditional" carrot cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is really good. It was a little bit stickier than I like, and it took an hour to bake. But it has great texture and flavor. As per the other reviews, I cut back on baking soda (by 1 t) and used pumpkin pie spice instead of straigh cloves and cinnamon. Also, I made it with zucchini instead of carrots. I would still cut back on the sugar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Like the other reviewer, this was way too sweet. 1 cup of brown sugar was perfectly fine, even for sweet-tooth kids. Also too much baking soda - we got an aftertaste. Will try half the soda and 2 tsp baking powder instead like my other cakes - there's no acidity in the recipe so I don't know why the soda's there! Also, 1 tbsp of cloves is entirely too much, maybe 1 tsp? I substituted the soy flour for an equal amount of ground hazelnuts and left out the almonds, currants and tapioca starch. The consistency is a good one though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this cake with the 4 tsp. of baking soda and it feels heavy in the stomach. I'd add only half of it. Otherwise it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
The consistency was perfect. The recipe needs some work. The cloves left the mouth burning. The recipe is missing fat and you can tell by the taste. Thus it does not satisfy your want for cake. Fat free does not equal healthy. The recipe has too much sugar. I added half the sugar and it was at a perfect sweetness for my taste. That was all that I changed. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States