Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I changed from white sugar to Raw Sugar and 1/2 cup of dried cranberry. Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe. I cut the sugar in half and used raw sugar instead of white. I also cut the oil down by 1/3 and instead used water to reach a proper consistency for baking. I sprayed my baking dish with olive oil and poured half the batter, sprinkling vegan chocolate chips on the middle, followed by the rest of the batter with more chips on top. This recipe needs approximately 15 more minutes of baking than indicated, but I used a toothpick in the center to gauge this. Close to the end of cooking, I dropped dollops of unsalted natural peanut butter on top, swirled through with a knife, and continued baking for 10 minutes. They are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
We adapted this recipe into a gluten free version using Bobs Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour. Added 1 tsp zanthum gum, substituted full fat coconut milk for the water and left the rest of the recipe as is. These turned out wonderfully! Even better than our favourite brownie mix by Namaste! Just as easy and much cheaper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
These were sensational! I would have given it a 5 if it wasn't too crumbly. I made a few changes though, used brown sugar instead of white and decreased the flour by 1/2 cup and substituted the 1/2 cup with unsweetened coconut flakes. They weren't oily and tasted just perfect. Will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
These brownies were soft and delicious!! I could not get enough. The only negative is that the bake time took a lot longer than 30 minutes. I baked for a little over an hour. These were so great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent brownies! I had a guest over who was allergic to eggs so I made this for dessert. Instead of 1 cup oil, I used 2/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup applesauce and it was not oily as some others complained. Some said it was not chocolatey enough but I used Dutch cocoa and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, but in term of ingredients, but like one reviewer said, I allowed the water and flour to sit together longer for gluten to form. They were FANTASTIC squares of gooey awesomeness!!! Would make again and again until I die!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I can't say I liked these even a little but I gave three stars because my kiddos liked them, but they insisted I make the "real" ones next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I'm not vegan, but I needed chocolate, and had no eggs in the house! These brownies did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I really wanted brownies, but didn't have eggs...so tried this recipe out. I usually make brownies from a recipe on the Hershey's website, so that's what I'll use to compare. I prefer a more cake like brownie for starters, which I get from Hershey's. This recipe was close though. I was leary of the oil...but followed the recipe exactly. I cooked them for about 8-10 min longer as suggested by the creator. They turned out very fudgy tasting with a more cake like texture. The texture was a little off because it wasnt staying together as well as I wanted it to. It was still moist enough and satisfied my sweet tooth. I'll keep this in the recipe box for the future....but just prefer my egg in there. Keep in mind this review is from a non-vegan....so take it with a grain of salt ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States