Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is my first egg free / milk free (vegan) Brownies, and they are good, but they seemed dry as compared to your average brownies. They are very good, and my little allergy girl loves them with a little almond milk! Edited to add I did sub the Vegitable oil (soybean oil) for Canola Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I switched to this recipe after years of using one that contained vinegar (something about that was a bit off to me) and am always very satisfied by these brownies. They are crumbly and maybe too oily, but I do plan to finally try the suggestions given by other users (applesauce, shortening, mixing the flour and water first, etc.). I am dying to try the coffee instead of water suggestion but always forget until they're already mixed and in the oven! Next time for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I literally joined this website just so I could comment about these brownies. I'm the type of girl that if you get near a dessert table will be stuck there all night long. I recently went dairy and egg-free and I got so excited to see a simple vegan brownie recipe! Alas, my excitement was short lived. The texture was wrong, and the taste was barely there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These were really good. I made a few simple changes that I think made them even better! I used coffee, instead of water to give a richer chocolate flavor as well as used melted Earth Balance instead of vegetable oil. I also swirled in peanut butter on the top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is my new go-to recipe for brownies. I substituted the all-purpose flour for gluten free flour and these came out absolutely unbelievable!! I will def. be making them in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taylorgordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made these for a vegan coworker and she (and those others who tried them) are raving about them! It was extremely easy and fast to make- and easy, on-hand ingredients! It comes out a bit gooey and sticky. You could also make these gluten free with gluten-free flour. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Made these and they turned out great! I used Gluten Free flour I used 1 cup of applesauce plus 2 tablespoons oil as sub for the veggie oil I used raw sugar and I baked them for 35 min. oh and I cut back the sugar a bit they turned out good, texture wasn't exactly "brownie" but it was better than I thought it would be! so after all my changes I give this recipe 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Surprisingly, these are pretty good. I used organic applesauce intead of any oil. I also used 1c whole wheat & 1c regular all-purpose flour; and organic raw sugar instead of white. Mine came out with a cake consistently...but not crumbly at all. They held together very well...and are very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSBIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I cooked these for a bonfire party and everyone said they were the best brownies ever,and only one out of thirty were vegan! to make them even more chocolaty i added half a bag of vegan dark choc chips to the recipe and then 10 mins before the end of the bake i sprinkled the other half on top to melt. Quite simply delicious. i was a little daunted when i added the water as it seemed too much but just keep stirring and it all goes in! I used extra virgin olive oil which i think made it a little richer and demerara sugar instead of white. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Yummy. I took out the oil and used apple sauce instead and they were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States