Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
The issue with this recipe being crumbly/not sticking together can easily be resolved (as can most any vegan recipe lacking eggs) by adding the flax seed substitute equivalent to a couple of eggs. This mixture consists of 1 heaping Tbsp. ground flax seed + 1/4 cup water for each egg "missing". I make this substitution for many baked good recipes to "veganize" them and it works wonders. With this recipe I simply added the equivalent of 2 eggs worth of the beaten flax seed mixture (it even thickens like eggs when beaten with a wand-type hand mixer for 30 seconds or so) - it left the brownies a bit more cake-like and fully stuck together..not to mention the added nutritional value it adds to each treat! I did not find the oil to be excessive as other reviewers mentioned - this may be due to the extra binding material provided by the flax seed mixture that helped keep the oil from separating out...in any case, the recipe turned out great for me and the brownies were a perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Ok I don't know how fair my rating is I changed the recipe quite a bit to make them a little more healthy and lapband friendly.I used canned pumpkin inplace of the oil I used equal packets in place of the sugar and instead of water I used coffee over all Its certainly not like a Real Brownie but when im craving something sweet like a brownie these will defiantly do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These were so yummy! I'm not vegan, just wanted an easy chocolate delivery system and had all the ingredients on hand. I followed the recipe almost exactly. I just used an 8x8 pan instead. It turned out more like a brownie ish cake than a cakie brownie. Not crumbly at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This wasn't what I was expecting...I will keep looking for other vegan brownie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Very good vegan brownies! These were fluffier and more cake-like than traditional non-vegan brownies, but the flavor is perfect! I made a few modifications based on other reviews - I used 1 cup of almond milk instead of water and used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 cup of vegetable oil instead of the 1 cup of vegetable oil. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Very good basic recipe but I agree too much oil. I lowered it to 3/4 cup and increased the almond milk I used in place of water to 1 1/2 cups. I also increased the cocoa to 1 cup, and added 2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp cayenne powder, 2 Tablespoons of arrowroot powder and 2 tsp of baking powder for a more cake like brownie. I increased the time to 45 minutes as well. I enjoy taking a simple and good recipe and shifting things slightly to fit our tastes and what we have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
For those who are complaining about the crumbliness of the brownies--instead of a cup of water, use a cup of unsweetened applesauce. The applesauce has a binding agent in it (yay fruit pectin!) and the moisture of the sauce should keep the consistency correct. You may need to cook them a little longer, or use a little less flour, depending on your gooey-ness preferences. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Great recipe for my niece and nephew who have dairy, soy and egg allergies. Made a few adjustments after reading all the comments. Used 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup apple sauce and 1/2 cup canola oil. They came out yummy, and the batter was great too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made these tonight and they were great. I used all brown sugar instead of white, about a cup of dark chocolate nib chips, and some raw coconut on top. They were a bit crumbly, but delicious. You could eat as a piece, or even crumble over some coconut milk ice cream. I have no idea why some reviewers thought they were super oily. I usually make Ghiradelli brownies, and they are sooo greasy. I love them, but they are.These weren't,in my opinion, greasy at all. My Sis in law has a severe dairy allergy, and can never enjoy chocolate desserts. I can't wait to bring these to her tomorrow.I'd make them again, and I'm not even vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
They smell great, but came out moist yet super dry. I felt like I was chocking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States