Vegan Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I really enjoyed this soup! My go-to black bean soup meal was always Amy's because every recipe I tried just didn't cut the mustard, but this one is pretty solid. I made half the recipe to see if I liked it, but made a few adjustments. First I rinsed the beans to reduce the sodium and used frozen corn instead of canned, because it often contains sweetener. I always use a little veggie stock to water-sautee the vegetables instead of using oil because you get the exact same result without the added fat, which I got instead from the half avocado I added at the table. I also added one teaspoon of brown sugar to mellow out the acidity and it worked like a charm! Since I never miss an opportunity to work in some uber nutrition, I finely chopped two big collard green leaves and added it to the soup during the last five minutes of cooking and they lent themselves REALLY well to this recipe. They were tender and blended right in with the soup. I finished it off with the aforementioned half an avocado and a generous squeeze of fresh lime juice and vegan jack cheese!!! Oh, and I thought the spice level was perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
all I can say is, the best soup I have ever eaten!!!!I didn't use corn, because I can't find organic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Yummy, so easy and quick. I have changed a bit according to what was at hand and it's just so delicious !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was excellent. If you purchase canned black beans, buy the ones with no sodium, then add a little sea salt to taste. Variation: add a few sun dried tomatoes and/or roasted sweet red peppers before blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I loved this recipe, and the leftovers were just as good. I did substitute 1 cup cooked lentils for 1 can of the black beans and it was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Five stars, full of flavor, healthy , vegan and easy to make. I followed the recipe to the letter and I wouldn't make Anu changed next time which there will be I know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
It was so delicious My family said it tasted like the bean soup at a good restraint . It was the first time I had made this recipe . It also served about 8-10 guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Great soup- I added a bunch of chopped kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This soup was ok. Tasty, but more of a "vegetable soup with black beans" than a black bean soup. Not exactly what I had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I doubled the recipe, thinking that six servings wasn't enough for 5 adults and 2 kids....we will be eating soup for days to come! But that's okay, because it was delicious! I had to add salt, maybe because I used low sodium broth, but my guests did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States