Vegan Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Delicious!. I too noted the high sodium in the recipe and reduced the beans to two cans, used FROZEN corn and added FRESH sautéed carrots and celery in place of the beans. I then split the pot and put cooked ground beef in my husband's pot and he pronounced it as the "Best I Have Ever Made".....and I am the SOUP QUEEN, so that's bold statement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Wonderful soup. My children loved it! Personal preference only, but I would cut the vegetable broth in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I have made this twice and and everyone who has tried it, absolutely loves it! I omit the cumin (only because I don't care for it). If you are sodium conscious, you can always use dried beans instead of canned, frozen corn instead of canned and low-sodium broth although, I followed the recipe exactly (except the cumin) and it is amazing! It freezes well and seems to defrost fairly quickly. This is my new favorite lunch to bring to the office and heat up in the microwave. I would consider this more of a meal than an appetizer. It is very filling and does hold you a long time. 5+ stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Made this one several times. A few times added chopped rotisserie chicken at the end of cooking. Always add a dollop of sour cream to each serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Delicious as written, but easy to adjust to what's on hand. I've made it without the tomatoes and no one even noticed! My usual/favorite way to make this:use dried black beans rather than canned, leave out the corn, add some sweet potato or winter squash and collard greens. I also just use a potato masher rather than blending the beans. We have this several times a month during the cold weather....my carnivorous sons don't even miss the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
4 stars but had to add some salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I liked this soup. it is good for a quick dinner on a cold night. I used fresh veggies instead of canned except the beans. The soup had a lot of flavor as directed but my wife still put Frank's red hot on it for an additional kick. I will make this again when I want a healthy and delicious soup that is easy to make. I made 2 servings that yielded more than my wife and I could eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Reese Nagel
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I halved everything except the onion, celery, garlic, and carrots and still made enough soup to serve 12! It was delicious with a side salad. However, the nutrition information for this soup is completely incorrect. Sodium and carbs were rather high in my HALVED recipe and calories came out to 210.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
mmmm...so yummy (because i made so many of my own tweaks.)i knew i couldnt do a vegetarian dish (picky family) so i added chicken and instead of 4 cups of vege i did 2 cups of vege broth and 2 cups chicken bullion. i also decided to skip the celery and add some mushrooms, peppers ans zucchini. overall, great soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
The soup turned out much better than I had hoped (my first attempt at vegan cooking). I didn't know if I was supposed to drain the beans, corns and tomatoes or not. I only drained the corn. Substituted 1 can of kidney beans for black beans by mistake, which my husband loved and one of my daughters didn't like. Substituted 1 tsp of red pepper for the chili pepper. Just the right amount of spiciness. Served with brown rice/quinoa, which I put in the soup. Others in my family put some soup on top of the rice. Out of the 8 of us who ate it, only a 10 year old thought it was OK, and everyone else loved it (children ranging from 4-17 with my husband and me). I was actually quite surprised at its heartiness. 4 stars instead of 5 ONLY because the sodium must be to the moon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinsn5more

Displaying results 71-80 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States