Vegan Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I picked this recipe up elsewhere and my version uses two can of black beans rather than four, 2 teaspoons of chili powder and 2 teaspoon of cumin. I add some cayenne for a little extra zip. I've tried adding different types of protein - chicken, ground beef and smoked pork chops - all good. I love to top each serving with a squeeze of lime, chopped avocado, some shredded Monterey jack and tortilla strips. One of my favorite soups - hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
this was fantastic~~~~I'm a new vegetarian ( heart surgery 13 weeks ago) I'm loving black beans!! I did add a handful of fresh cilantro and a few green onions10 min. before serving this will be my go to soup all year thanks for posting the recipe ~~Ozzy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I followed the instructions and included all ingredients except the celery, carrots, and onion. It was delicious. I recommend a pinch of shredded cheese and a small dollop or sour cream to make the bowl pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was very yummy - reminded us of chili & tortilla soup I make. Everyone gobbled it up. :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
The flavor is amazing, but I feel it doesn't yield enough broth. I have learned to add extra while making it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This was a great recipe. The changes I made were used reduced sodium black beans and rinsed them. I didn't use the water from the corn, but did add 2 cups of water, 3-4 mini sweet peppers, 7 grape tomatoes, and 1 tomato bullion since I didn't have crushed tomatoes on hand. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Delicious!. I too noted the high sodium in the recipe and reduced the beans to two cans, used FROZEN corn and added FRESH sautéed carrots and celery in place of the beans. I then split the pot and put cooked ground beef in my husband's pot and he pronounced it as the "Best I Have Ever Made".....and I am the SOUP QUEEN, so that's bold statement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Wonderful soup. My children loved it! Personal preference only, but I would cut the vegetable broth in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I have made this twice and and everyone who has tried it, absolutely loves it! I omit the cumin (only because I don't care for it). If you are sodium conscious, you can always use dried beans instead of canned, frozen corn instead of canned and low-sodium broth although, I followed the recipe exactly (except the cumin) and it is amazing! It freezes well and seems to defrost fairly quickly. This is my new favorite lunch to bring to the office and heat up in the microwave. I would consider this more of a meal than an appetizer. It is very filling and does hold you a long time. 5+ stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Made this one several times. A few times added chopped rotisserie chicken at the end of cooking. Always add a dollop of sour cream to each serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States