Vegan Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
The soup turned out much better than I had hoped (my first attempt at vegan cooking). I didn't know if I was supposed to drain the beans, corns and tomatoes or not. I only drained the corn. Substituted 1 can of kidney beans for black beans by mistake, which my husband loved and one of my daughters didn't like. Substituted 1 tsp of red pepper for the chili pepper. Just the right amount of spiciness. Served with brown rice/quinoa, which I put in the soup. Others in my family put some soup on top of the rice. Out of the 8 of us who ate it, only a 10 year old thought it was OK, and everyone else loved it (children ranging from 4-17 with my husband and me). I was actually quite surprised at its heartiness. 4 stars instead of 5 ONLY because the sodium must be to the moon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinsn5more
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
My 12 year old son started making this recipe for the family last year and we've all enjoyed it each time he makes it. We are not vegan so we actually like the flavor a bit better with chicken broth but we've had it with vegetable broth too and it's been good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was easy to make with few ingredients to put together. I didn't follow the second step but it still came out delicious (I'm sure it only makes the consistency thicker so depending on what you prefer but next time I'll be sure to blend the remaining two cans of beans together along with the tomato).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very good! Made some changes though: Sauteed the veggies in coconut oil instead of olive (I've read olive oil denatures with heat and you lose the nutrition- but coconut oil does not, so it's better to use olive oil in cold dishes and coconut oil when sauteing.) Used homemade free range chicken broth, my own cooked black beans (which I only had about 2 1/2 cups left, so I just put half in the soup and blended half with the tomatoes)I used a lot more celery and carrots, added half a red pepper and half a jalapeno, and threw in a pinch of cayenne pepper, a bay leaf, and a bunch of cilantro as well. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
i just needed something quick and hot to make ... i did a lot of subbing and adjustments of flavours according to what i had on hand, and didn't puree, and the result was lovely. i think this is a really great, forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I think it's a great recipe. I am eating it as we speak. I didn't add celery, cause I hate celery (lol) and didn't have carrots. Instead I quartered slices of zucchini and put that with the onion. I was too lazy to mince all that garlic, so I threw 3 large cloves in the vitamix blender with the beans and tomato. I had left over roasted garlic that I had smashed into paste that I put into the zucchini/onion mixture. I used no salt added or low salt beans and tomatoes, use trader joes frozen roasted corn, and ancho chili powder. I also threw in some coriander for fun, about 1 Tb. I don't know if it made an overall difference though. Anyways, it is delicious! I put a half an avocado on top and am eating away! Oh, and I made sure to rinse all the beans, as I have heard multiple times that what makes you have bad gas is the liquid of the beans in the can. If I drain it off, I don't get super bloat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
It is good but I do watch my sodium intake so I never buy prepared foods. I have a stock pot going at all times so I do not have to buy stock. I make my own beans from scratch, too. All is easy if one just makes the time for it and that is easy if one is prepared. I am a vegan because food is my medicine and if I'm buying prepared foods I'm defeating that purpose. I am 80 years old, an artist and have a full-time job. I had to change my ways when I developed cardiac vascular disease. Yes, I used to eat everthing out of a can and I brought four children up that way. I hadn't even heard of vegetarians fifty years ago. I started watching what I ate nearly thirty years ago and even then I didn't know what a vegan was. One can learn. These recipes are good. Just do your own thing while following the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Loved this recipe! I omitted the celery because I don't like it. Also added cayenne pepper for heat. Also, I chopped up a red pepper and roasted it... I put half in the soup between steps one and two... the other half in the food processor. Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
My friend and I just made this fantastic soup -- incredibly delicious, easy, and filling. I would highly recommend this recipe to other college students as this soup is (as aforementioned) very filling, cost-effective, freezes easily, and can be reheated for many meals with your friends or on your own. My only modifications were to add more chili powder, omit the celery, rinse all the beans to remove salt, and to use fire-roasted tomatoes instead of regular ones. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was awesome! Very easy to make! I did a few tweaks: I used a 1 lb (equals 6 cups/4 cans of prepared beans) bag of dried black beans that I steeped in hot water for an hour, 3 small onions, 6 cloves of garlic, 5 carrots, no celery, 14 oz tomato sauce. I think next time I will only puree 2 cups of black beans with the tomato sauce, soup got too thick & clogged my blender. Also had to add 2 extra cups of vegetable stock to loosen up the black bean puree. I will also back off the chili powder a little and keep the celery salt (2 tsp). I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States