Vegan Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was totally restaurant quality. I used low sodium chicken broth and needed to add 2 tsp salt at the end. Served with sour cream. Amazing. Will immediately go into frequent rotation in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJ Mom of 3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I give it 4 stars because I alter the recipe a bit, but my family loves the altered version. First, 1 stalk of celery and two carrots is a pitiful excuse for veggies. I double or triple the count at least. I also rinse my beans if they are canned for the sodium content. For the spices, I do 1 Tbsp of chili powder, 1 Tbsp of paprika, and 1 Tbsp of cumin and fresh ground pepper to taste. Still has a lot of flavor, but not as spicy if you have little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Quick and easy, and perfectly delicious. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is my fav black bean soup recipe. I also add coconut milk to make it a bit more creamy, some cayenne pepper for a kick! Super Yummy and super easy to make. My friends love it when I make this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri Krause

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
So awesome! I added a little bit more celery and carrots (just my preference). Even my husband loved it and he is a meat eater! So much flavor in this soup...will def make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
YUM!! I make this weekly because my family loves it so much. We follow a plant based diet and this is such a great soup to look forward too. It tastes a lot like chili which is nice. I make the recipe as is and it's wonderful. We eat this with warm pita bread and occasionally add some provel cheese on top which makes it to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
First time making this recipe so I halved the ingredients just in case it wasn't a big hit as many reviewers posted. I adjusted the spices to our tastes, left out celery since it's been banned from our house, and added some of the tomato to the soup before blending the can (to give some more texture). The soup is good, but not amazing. Maybe some different chilies/peppers would put it above the rest. Still, needed quite a bit of tweaking, so 3 stars for the recipe as is. I served it with polenta wedges which were a good compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I LOVE this soup. It turned out so well and had such wonderful flavor. My husband even said he really liked it and he usually has to have meat in things. I will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Big hit at an extended family dinner - we had a vegan guest and we wanted her to feel welcome. It is delicious, with just enough oomph to make it interesting. Highly recommended - a hearty way to get your protein and veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This one is a keeper. I drained and rinsed the beans, and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Wilson Banta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States