Vegan Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Love this recipe!! Of course, I tweaked it a little to suit our taste and this is what I did: I didn't puree the tomatoes and beans - just used them whole. i used only 2 cans of black beans and used Mexican corn instead of regular. I also used hot sauce in place of chili powder as I didn't have any. The other thing I changed was I added about a cup of tomato juice and a pinch of sugar because I wanted more of a tomato base. Turned out great and I will definitely make it again!! Thank you for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup! I also find that adding brown or white rice gives it a heavier feel and more substance. The sodium is REALLY high on this however because of all the canned veggies. You can find cans at local markets that are organic and have little to no sodium which make this recipe all the better. I also added a little more vegetable broth for more a "soupier" consistency. Be sure you use a big pot because this makes a lot! We've been eating it almost a week now between 4 of us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sukitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuciaZoe
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Delicious! I had to do some changes because I did not have corn, cumin or celery. However, it came out great! One of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuciaZoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is now a monthly staple in our home. We have six members in our family. Half are vegetarian and half are not. This is heaven sent as it satisfies everyone and there are plenty of leftovers for dad's lunch. My only modification is that I add a can of green chilies to spice up the flavor a bit. We are not vegan so I top with shredded cheese and sour cream. I also top with tortilla strips. I cut white corn tortillas into thin strips, fry til crispy then season with Lawry's. So simple but so good. They really compliment this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizclemetson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Loved it. I made my own beans from scratch to cut down on sodium, and added a bit more heat (cayenne/dried chili peppers), and a bottle of dark beer. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Fantastic! The best soup I've ever made! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Wonderful soup! This is the kind of soup that you can put as much of an ingredient in that you like & won't hurt it :) I added lentils & mushrooms & it was still soooo good! Even better the day after you make it so all the flavors can soak in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Made as close as possible to the original recipe. My differences were, 2 cups dry black beans, cooked in a pressure cooker. Drained beans, reserved half for the pot, and the other half for the tomato/bean puree. Used, Better Than Bouillon, vegetable bouillon, for the broth portion of the recipe. The soup was great, and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was very tasty. I cut the recipe in half since it is just my husband and me, but ended up using whole cans of corn and tomatoes and it tasted great. Also, I didn't have celery and used a red bell pepper instead. Like another reviewer suggested, we put tortilla chips in ours and a dollop of sour cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was totally restaurant quality. I used low sodium chicken broth and needed to add 2 tsp salt at the end. Served with sour cream. Amazing. Will immediately go into frequent rotation in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJ Mom of 3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States