Vegan Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Absolutely wonderful and delicious black bean soup when I made it. Added more spices and cumin and am craving it now as I cannot eat carbs due to atkins :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
WOW!! Awesome! I only had 3 cans of Black beans, so I pureed a can of chili beans in place of 1 can of black beans. It was so good. I recommend using frozen corn because I think they taste better than canned corn. I used Trader Joe's Cuban style roasted corn....so good! This recipe leaves a lot of room for improvisation but I don't think it needed it. I will be making this all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I am a black bean soup junkie. This is by far best I've ever tasted and ever made. I am also a crockpot junkie. I did not change any ingredients but I did change the cooking method to accommodate a slow cooker. First, I sautéed all of the veggies in a skillet with the olive oil and chili powder. I put this into the bottom of the crockpot first. Then I added the wet ingredients, beans and other spices. Stirring occasionally, I set it for 8 hours on low. Since I am the primary vegan eater in the house I like to cook in bulk so I can eat for a week without worrying about what to cook for myself. This recipe was fed me lunch and some dinners for a week. I did not get tired of eating it. The best thing I liked about this recipe was that the soup was not too thick or too thin. I like the thickness of the broth that I usually can only find in canned black bean soup. In other recipes the broth is too thin. In the words of Goldilocks "this is just right." Thanks for sharing this recipe! The only other black bean soup I can compare this to is Panera's black bean soup. I thought this recipe was by far the superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by datura_jade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Great basic recipe! Can easily customize this to your own liking by using varied kinds of beans (kidney and navy) and adding other veggies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe! Also used dried beans and frozen corn to cut down the sodium level. My husband loves it with some Siracha hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Not a huge fan of the soup, but it is more because of personal preference. I used soaked dried beans rather than the can to drastically cut the sodium and the recipe freezes wonderfully! Also, it sure makes a lot so freezing it was definitely a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Did not have enough black beans and substituted 2 cans of black-eyed peas. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
My family loved this soup - my kids ate it for days. I used 2 tablespoons of Lizano sauce (from Costa Rica) instead of chili and cumin and it made this a "comfort" soup. Also, the recipe doesn't mention draining the beans and corn which may be obvious to most, but I had to search reviews to figure out whether to drain or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Love this recipe!! Of course, I tweaked it a little to suit our taste and this is what I did: I didn't puree the tomatoes and beans - just used them whole. i used only 2 cans of black beans and used Mexican corn instead of regular. I also used hot sauce in place of chili powder as I didn't have any. The other thing I changed was I added about a cup of tomato juice and a pinch of sugar because I wanted more of a tomato base. Turned out great and I will definitely make it again!! Thank you for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup! I also find that adding brown or white rice gives it a heavier feel and more substance. The sodium is REALLY high on this however because of all the canned veggies. You can find cans at local markets that are organic and have little to no sodium which make this recipe all the better. I also added a little more vegetable broth for more a "soupier" consistency. Be sure you use a big pot because this makes a lot! We've been eating it almost a week now between 4 of us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sukitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States