Vegan Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I made this with leftover black beans from black beans and rice, added a few extra seasonings, the bread and some flour, and cooked as directed. They turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
We loved these! My black bean loving daughter devoured an entire burger. I chose to skip the flour and bread in favor of a bit of panko. I did still add the cornstarch. To help the burgers stay together I chilled the finished mixture a few hours then formed the parties in wax paper and put in the freezers to set up a bit more. Next time I think I will go a step further and pre bake so I can allow them to sit out a bit and dry out so they form a nice crispy outside when placed under the broiler for 10 minutes or so. I added carrots, pre grilled corn I had left over, green onion, and garlic for my veg and to add some smoky flavor I added smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
nice and easy, i made it gluten free by substituting cooked brown rice for the whole wheat bread, with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brocton, New York, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I wanted it as a finger food, so I made it like falafel, it was DELICIOUS! Instead of burgers, shape like teaspoon-size meatballs. Deep fry in very hot oil. They are very tasty, so don't over-do the condiments. Just serve with pita triangles & cucumber sauce (or sour cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I did not use the seafood seasoning (didn't feel like spending $6+ on it at the store) and they still turned out great! I used panko crumbs instead of bread and tossed in an egg instead of cornstarch. I ate it on a kaiser roll with jalapeño mustard, ketchup, vegan mayo, dill pickles, and mixed greens -- amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
LOVED this! I had a black bean burger in local restaurant and looked for a recipe I could try at home. This is perfect! I used a Silpat mat and a dab of olive oil. That gave it a little crisp in the oven. Followed the recipe to the "t" and came out great. Would love to reheat it on the top rack of the grill. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was sooooo delicious. I made an avocado sauce for the burgers and served it all on steamed kale. LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
These were really, really good! I've never made a veggie-based burger before and it was very easy and delicious! I'm not a huge Sriracha fan but am a HUGE Old Bay fan, so I upped it to a tablespoon of Old Bay and then added 1 more T of water and 1 T of white vinegar to make up for the moisture from the missing Sriracha. I then dressed the bun like I usually would - lettuce, onion, tomato, ketchup, mustard, and even a little vegan mayo. The best part is that my 2 year old was curious and I broke off a piece and she LOVED it. It's a huge personal win for me because the rest of the family typically turns their noses up at my veggie creations/substitutions. A winner all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Soooo yummy! My whole family loved it, including myself. My husband was a bit hesitant that it wasn't beef, but during supper he said it was really good, and after supper and he said they were really filling! My daughter said she really liked it but it was a bit spicy for her, so I will make a double batch next time and make a couple patties less spicy. Hopefully it works to freeze patties for another day I think bean burgers are a good idea. I will keep you all posted. This one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
These are super tasty and good. My DH thinks they are better than MorningStar. I make a batch, cooked on parchment paper, and then freeze them in a gallon bag. They can then be taken out individually and zapped for a minute for a hot lunch. I use frozen corn instead of the pepper and carrots. And, I use cooked dried beans instead of canned for less sodium. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States