Vegan Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
We loved these! My black bean loving daughter devoured an entire burger. I chose to skip the flour and bread in favor of a bit of panko. I did still add the cornstarch. To help the burgers stay together I chilled the finished mixture a few hours then formed the parties in wax paper and put in the freezers to set up a bit more. Next time I think I will go a step further and pre bake so I can allow them to sit out a bit and dry out so they form a nice crispy outside when placed under the broiler for 10 minutes or so. I added carrots, pre grilled corn I had left over, green onion, and garlic for my veg and to add some smoky flavor I added smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Horribly dry, deffinatly needs some tweaking .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I made this with leftover black beans from black beans and rice, added a few extra seasonings, the bread and some flour, and cooked as directed. They turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is the BEST BURGER recipe EVER! I made 4 of these burgers for myself (I am vegan) and made regular cheeseburgers for my kids- MY VEGAN BURGERS ARE GONE- I have 3 cheeseburgers left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
nice and easy, i made it gluten free by substituting cooked brown rice for the whole wheat bread, with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brocton, New York, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
We added 1tbsp flax seed and 1tbsp chia seed for protein and froze the patties overnight. Served them on toasted bread with avacado, arugula, tomato, cucumber and scallions after frying. Honestly the best veggie burger I've ever had. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I did not use the seafood seasoning (didn't feel like spending $6+ on it at the store) and they still turned out great! I used panko crumbs instead of bread and tossed in an egg instead of cornstarch. I ate it on a kaiser roll with jalapeño mustard, ketchup, vegan mayo, dill pickles, and mixed greens -- amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was sooooo delicious. I made an avocado sauce for the burgers and served it all on steamed kale. LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I wanted it as a finger food, so I made it like falafel, it was DELICIOUS! Instead of burgers, shape like teaspoon-size meatballs. Deep fry in very hot oil. They are very tasty, so don't over-do the condiments. Just serve with pita triangles & cucumber sauce (or sour cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This recipe is by far the absolute best vegan black bean burger I have ever tried. I added a little cauliflower to give it some depth and since I am from the Caribbean I added to some fresh hot pepper for spice. This is the first vegan burger recipe that I followed that came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States