Vegan Bean Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
awesome recipe! i added half a package of soyrizo. My wife is a veggie and im not, so i added the soyrizo for a little meaty texture. I also added 1 minced chipotle pepper for a nice smokey touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevenv90

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I halved the recipe. It was the perfect amount for my husband and I. There was a bit too much cumin for our taste, so I would reduce that by half next time. I put the mixture in a flour tortilla with some mexican rice, rolled it and fried it so that I had a chimichanga while he had soft tacos. Served it with lettuce. It was great. Didn't miss meat at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is a good, quick and cheap recipe. I chose it to make something easy for supper. Not fantastic, but good for beans. The flavor here depends on salsa you use. I used homemade tomato salsa, added lime juice and didn't use cornmeal. Next time I would definitely add cilantro and maybe cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Great taste! I used chili powder, and omitted the cayenne pepper! I rolled the filling in a tortilla shell, and made little pinwheels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magpie
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
AMAZING! better than i exspected, if you like spice youll love this recipe. I put some in a pita with cheese,sour cream,and spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is too spicy as it is for us. We prefer the taste of the store bought taco seasonings so I just used the 1 teaspoon each of salt and paprika and 2 teaspoons of chili powder and omitted the cumin. I didn't like the cornmeal texture either - too gritty. This recipe is a good jumping off point to develop my own bean filling recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Very good, I cut the amount of cayenne pepper...Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slapdis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I enjoyed this. It was quick, easy, filling and healthy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupOfNina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tonia's Tastings
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I don't know why this rates so high because it just taste okay for mashed beans. There wasn't anything special about them at all. I would make them again but with vegetarian/vegan refried beans (no need to mash them myself again), salsa and a pinch of sea salt so they're not bland. They would taste better, IMO, on the side with some Spanish rice and veggie crumble tacos for a more authentic tasting Mexican meal. These beans would serve much better on burritos than tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonia's Tastings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States