Vegan Bean Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times and think it's great - easy to modify, easy to make, healthy and inexpensive! I prefer to reduce the cumin to about 1/2 to 3/4 of a Tbsp and may tone down the cayenne depending on the audience, although I like it spicy! Last time I used a combo of black and kidney beans, reserved about 1/4 can whole beans from each and lightly pulsed the rest in a processor. It's nice to have a few whole beans for texture. I squeezed some liquid out of the onions and peppers after cooking them by placing them in a colander and pressing with a spoon and used a fork to scoop the salsa to reduce liquid content. Recently I used half of the filling to make veggie patties by adding flax-egg substitute (1 Tbsp flax to 3 Tbsp water, mix and let set for 5 minutes) and half cup of bread crumbs. Formed into 4 patties and baked at 350 on a baking pan lined with parchment paper for about 7-10 minutes each side. I believe the liquid reducing measures helped keep the patties formed. Liked these 'burgers' better than the highly rated black bean burger recipe on this site. They're easy to grab for lunch and significantly less expensive than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This was delish!! Like others, I only mashed 1 can beans. Added 1 can corn, and slightly toned down the spices. Served with tortillas, diced tomatoes, salsa, and cheese. Next time I'll do guac but was out today. Looking forward to leftovers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by antaylor
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I used my own taco seasoning(found on this site), instead of the spices listed in the recipe, and it was so good!!! I'm sure it would have been delicious with the recommended spices, but now that I make my own taco seasoning, I can't bring myself not to use it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This was pretty good! My Husband and I enjoyed these for a few days because it made a good amount for only two people. I think next time I will add more spices, it wasn't as flavorful as I would have liked. It was probably due to the fact that my husband won't eat onion so I left that out. I will for sure be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
My meat-eating, bean-hating boyfriend was skeptical when I told him last month that we were having black bean tacos (he told me afterward that he was prepared to say they were good even though he wasn't going to like them) but in reality he loved them. He's requested them 3 or 4 times since then so I know he's not just trying to appease me. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Pretty good! Added some quinoa to the mix for some extra texture. Also made a tomatillo sauce to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made them just as the recipe suggested. Maybe I'll try making my own salsa next time to use. Something wasn't quite "right". Can't put my finger on it. I LOVE black beans and LOVE Mexican themed dishes, so I was excited to be making it. Was a little disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I haven't been on the Allrecipes website in years and in the past few weeks I have made a few of the vegan recipes and they are awesome, including this one. We ate it like a hearty soup and did not add the cornmeal because I could not find Organic cornmeal. If you know about GMO's, you will only organic when it comes to corn products. Keep the vegan recipes coming peeps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States