Vegan Bean Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
The only changes I made was using a can of Rotel instead of salsa and did not mash the beans. It made a wonderful chunky filling! I served mine in tortillas topped with plain yogurt and cheese. Can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momsy 'n Popsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Awesome! I used a can of Rotel instead of salsa and I left the black beans whole (if you simmer for a bit they will break down a little but it won't be a paste, just like a hearty salsa) Then I added some griled corn right off the cob. The sweetness of the corn offsets the spice and completes the flavor. I also added a bit of lime juice. Great on tacos or as a hot dip for chips. Perfect for a cinco de mayo potluck! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Everyone loves this vegetarians and non - vegetarians even for a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This recipe calls for too much cumin. I even decreased the amount that was called for! I would reduce the amount further next time. Nice and cheap though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Omitted the cumin due to a family allergy. I also didn't have cornmeal so I just left it out. I used Rotel instead of salsa. Served on tostada shells with lettuce, tomato, etc. Very good! Plenty of leftovers for lunches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SG-cooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Super tasty alternative to traditional meat fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is very delicious and so simple. I changed nothing except for using a little less salsa. Oh and I skipped the cornmeal because I didn't have any. I made no additions though and I didn't feel like the recipe needed any. I did top my first taco with just sour cream but I left it off my second taco and preferred it that way. Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely make again - and I'm not even vegan or vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
So yummy! I didn't have any cayenne pepper or yellow cornmeal, but it was still delicious. I added some jalapenos because I love it spicy. Next time I'm going to add more salsa because it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made this last night for dinner and it was really yummy. I'm glad I saved the drained bean juice because I had to add that back in along with some water and covered the pot and let it simmer for 10 minutes or so for the flavors the meld. I fried my taco shells until crispy and had cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, olives and salsa as add-ons. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
We loves these. If we don't have cornmeal on hand we use flour and it doesn't affect the flavor for us. I like leftovers as a cold bean dip for tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States