Vegan Bean Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I made this into enchiladas. My family is big on Mexican food and I am always looking for healthier ways to prepare our favorites. I just rolled the mixture into tortillas, covered with a bit of cheese, leftover salsa and some olives. My family was shocked when I told them there wasn't any meat, and even more shocked when they saw the nutritional values lying on my kitchen table. Amazing dish. P.S. I skipped on the cayenne for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieErinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyassy
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
great flavor and very spicy, but next time i might forgo the pepper. it was very overpowering. served this with tortillas, vegan mexican rice (store-bought) and some fresh tomatoes and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyassy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
OMG so good I just recently made the choice to become vegetarian and my kids didnt kick up any fuss with these Yummy these will be made again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I followed the recipe (almost) to the tee. The only thing that I added was some salt, and a little sugar to balance the flavors. On top of hard tostada shells this was simply fantastic!. Thank you for letting vegans know that they can enjoy mexican flavors without compromise!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very yummy. Topped it off with some sliced green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This turned out to be very good. similar to sometihng i make but the few extra like the spices and such made it really good sort of a twist. I just ate it without the taco shell :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdicamplisheep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I actually used this for the bean mixture in the Seven Layer Dip I recipe instead of the refried for a nice vegetarian/kosher (and healthier) seven layer dip. I did change things up: I use pinto beans, which I prefer over black beans. I also cut the bell pepper and instead of cayenne pepper, I added an extra teaspoon of chili powder. Lastly, I substituted chopped, fresh cilantro for the cornmeal...amount to your taste. I highly recommend the latter if available, it gives it an authentic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Mmm, almost tasted like meat! There is only one vegitarian in our house, and well ALL loved this recipe!!! Dad didn't very much like it, but only because his filling fell out. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phasahd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Really good, easy to follow recipe, easy to make, and freezes real well too. I ate it as a replacement for beef, and it was great. My husband ate it with his beef as a topper and really enjoyed it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I used red chili beans and these were great on tacos. The consistency was perfect for tacos, not runny at all. Lots of spice. Next time I'll use hot salsa and chop the bell peppers a bit finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States