Vegan Bean Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
A little mushy to fit with taco shells. I didn't mind that but my husband preferred it as a burrito filling. Either way, definitely has a great flavor. It'd a repeat recipe around here for sure! I did cut back on the cayenne the second time I made it, as it was a bit spicy for my 3 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I cooked the mashed black beans and whole-grain cornmeal. Then in a separate bowl I mixed the raw uncooked white onion, garlic, red bell pepper (red is higher in nutrition than green), cumin, paprika, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, chili powder, 1 tsp salt, and fresh uncooked salsa. I spread the warm bean mixture on tostada shells and warm flour tortillas. Then I topped the warm bean mixture with the uncooked vegetable & spice mixture. I had a friend over who had several helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I tried this recipe because my teenage daughter has become a vegetarian and this was great. Not only did she like but the rest of us did too. I didn't have cayenne pepper so instead I put in some cry mustard. (only thing I had) very yummy will definitely make again for our family as well as for get togethers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Pretty good! Tastes pretty much like I thought it would, I did not have enough salsa on hand so I added a little tomato sauce. I just wanted to try it so I whipped up a half batch for lunch and stuck it on a tortilla. would be great with shredded lettuce, tomatoes, black olives and avacado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Too spicy, and too gritty w/ the cornmeal. I needed to add a bunch of water to make it less pasty. Just not really worth the effort, for the average taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I'm not a vegan, but i was trying to find ways of cutting down meat. So I tried this and it was great! I added corn and potatoes! I used soft tortillas to make burritos. : ] i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This recipe came out delicious - the spices were perfect. I prefer a vegetarian diet, but with a husband and tween son who are bigger eaters that can be a challenge. However they were very satisfied with this recipe, even for dinner. I served the bean filling in a a warmed tortilla as a wrap, and a dallop of guacamole and salsa on the plate to dip them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Excellent! I did omit the cornmeal and replaced the bell pepper with a green chile, but otherwise followed the recipe. I spooned into tortillas, added a little fat free sour cream and shredded cheese, rolled up, then topped with a thin line of taco sauce. Baked at 350 for about 15 minutes. Very good! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I had high expectations for this recipe because of all the great ratings it recieved, but this recipe let me down. I followed the recipe exactly and i did not care for it. It had a reall bitter taste and it was too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I'm doing a 21 day fast with my church so I've been looking so some yummy meals and I've found it. This recipe was absolutely wonderful with corn sprouted tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Texas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States