Vegan Bean Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Fantastic. Didn't mash the beans and added a small tin of green chilis because I had some. So very yummy - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vschneider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I think this was a good starting point. I added hot sauce instead of the dry cayenne; green chiles with their juice instead of salsa; then served on whole wheat tortilla with lettuce, onion, tomato. Wish I had a lime handy, I think that would have been a good finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajourney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I saw this and decided to give it a try. I omitted the cornmeal, because I'd never use the rest of it for anything and couldn't see a need for it. I also decided to leave the salsa out but add taco sauce and fresh tomato chunks when serving, and that worked well. I wasn't sure how spicy this was if made by the recipe, so was a little more conservative with the spices; next time I will use more. This was great and healthy and easy; it's also a good base to experiment with, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I did make a couple adjustments just because I can't do spicy! I didn't use cumin or cayenne and just stuck with the 1 tsp each of paprika and chili powder. I also did not use the cornmeal since I didn't have any. I made fresh salsa instead of store bought. We made burritos and I put some homemade guac on top of my beans before rolling it up. It was really good. My daughter said she doesn't like black beans, but ate the whole thing. She did say it tasted so much better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made this last night with what I had on hand; red kidney beans instead of black beans (which are HARD to find in France!!), no cornmeal or bell pepper. It was delicious, though a tad too spicy for this family, so I will tone it down the next time, and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was really good. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I used 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp paprika and a scant 1/4 tsp cayenne and it came out tasting just right to me. I much prefer this to fake burgher crumbles with taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent exactly as written. The spice combination is very flavorful. I made this with pinto beans since my husband doesn't like black beans, and it turned out great. I served it on crunchy taco shells, topped w/avacado and tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
My family loved this. I have a vegan, a meat eater, a picky eater and a toddler and everyone loved this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was delicious. I omitted the cayenne pepper, but otherwise it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Girard, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States