Vegan Bean Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I finally made this myself for at first time today, after I tasted it at a friends house. I used red kidney beans instead of black beans. It was really easy to make, it came out great and everybody in my family liked it. I served it with homemade corn tortillas, salad, garlic dressing, cheese and some diced, grilled pepper. (I'm not a vegetarian myself and I did not miss meat at all.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Backed off a little on the cayenne, otherwise great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rjt312
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Made it exactly as directed and served it in a flour tortilla, it was delicious!! It was also really good just as a dip with tortilla chips! Excellent vegan meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
We liked this. We used a hot salsa which was really good for the recipe. Next time we will try hot sauce, such as Cholulaa or Frank's, instead because our chunky salsa was challenging in a texture sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times and think it's great - easy to modify, easy to make, healthy and inexpensive! I prefer to reduce the cumin to about 1/2 to 3/4 of a Tbsp and may tone down the cayenne depending on the audience, although I like it spicy! Last time I used a combo of black and kidney beans, reserved about 1/4 can whole beans from each and lightly pulsed the rest in a processor. It's nice to have a few whole beans for texture. I squeezed some liquid out of the onions and peppers after cooking them by placing them in a colander and pressing with a spoon and used a fork to scoop the salsa to reduce liquid content. Recently I used half of the filling to make veggie patties by adding flax-egg substitute (1 Tbsp flax to 3 Tbsp water, mix and let set for 5 minutes) and half cup of bread crumbs. Formed into 4 patties and baked at 350 on a baking pan lined with parchment paper for about 7-10 minutes each side. I believe the liquid reducing measures helped keep the patties formed. Liked these 'burgers' better than the highly rated black bean burger recipe on this site. They're easy to grab for lunch and significantly less expensive than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This was delish!! Like others, I only mashed 1 can beans. Added 1 can corn, and slightly toned down the spices. Served with tortillas, diced tomatoes, salsa, and cheese. Next time I'll do guac but was out today. Looking forward to leftovers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by antaylor
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I used my own taco seasoning(found on this site), instead of the spices listed in the recipe, and it was so good!!! I'm sure it would have been delicious with the recommended spices, but now that I make my own taco seasoning, I can't bring myself not to use it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This was pretty good! My Husband and I enjoyed these for a few days because it made a good amount for only two people. I think next time I will add more spices, it wasn't as flavorful as I would have liked. It was probably due to the fact that my husband won't eat onion so I left that out. I will for sure be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States