Vegan Bean Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Tonia's Tastings
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I don't know why this rates so high because it just taste okay for mashed beans. There wasn't anything special about them at all. I would make them again but with vegetarian/vegan refried beans (no need to mash them myself again), salsa and a pinch of sea salt so they're not bland. They would taste better, IMO, on the side with some Spanish rice and veggie crumble tacos for a more authentic tasting Mexican meal. These beans would serve much better on burritos than tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonia's Tastings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is sublime. I made it exactly as written and it was absolutely delicious. With apologies to vegans, other times I added some ground turkey to it and it was also delicious. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Made this for a friend that doesn't eat meat and it was really good. I was surprised how much I enjoyed this. I did mix some of the leftovers with taco meat and it was amazing. I also like this as a dip with blue corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
VERY yummy! Nice little kick to it. Will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I made this recipe and put the filling in soft taco shells as a more low calorie option. They were delicious, but a bit too spicy for me even when I only used 1/2 teaspoon of the cayenne pepper. I have a sensitive stomach and can not handle spicy foods well so I'll just leave out the pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Yummy.....loved it just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Surprisingly awesome. Do this once as per the recipe exactly - you won't be disappointed. After that you realize you can pretty much do anything with it based on what you have leftover in your house and it will be pretty darned good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Love this! I used Green Salsa & a Yellow pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Due to a recent switch to veganism, I am relying more and more on beans to create filling meals. This taco filling is delicious, super flavor packed, and simple to make, you'll never miss meat tacos! My non-vegan roommates keep finishing off batch after batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was very good. I made it for my small kids so I cut the amount of cayenne in half. It was still a little too spicy for them but I liked it a lot. Ill be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate
Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States