Vegan Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
We love this recipe!! I made a couple of subs, including using whole wheat flour instead of white (3/4 cup ww for each 1 cup white), replacing the Canola oil with coconut oil and the coconut milk with pumpkin spice soy milk (it's what I had on hand, sounds weird but it worked!) Im making my second batch right now because they are great little snacks when I'm up with the baby in the wee hours of the night, and I ate the last one this morning!! :-) yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very good. I made exactly as recipe is written and they turned out really good. Next time I make these I'll be cutting the cinnamon down to one teaspoon not two because I felt that it took away from the banana flavor too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbermuffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA
Living In: Quincy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
These were so good!!They where very moist. My husband loved them and took some to work to share. He was amazed they where vegan. I will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Loved this recipes but changed it up a little. Instead of the 1 cup of canola oil I used 1/2 c. coconut oil and 1/2 c. applesauce. I also added 1 c. of chopped walnuts. And I topped them with a streusel topping of 1/4 c flour, 1/4 c each brown and white sugar with 1 Tb. vegan margarine. And instead of 12 muffins- it made 24 big ones.- thrilled with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Excellent banana bread recipe! Due to on hand ingredients, I used almond milk and melted coconut oil. I was also about a banana short, I'd say. I mashed the two bananas that I had in a two cup measure and then added applesauce to make two cups. Because I was having a chocolate craving, I mixed wet and dry ingredients together before adding cinnamon and nutmeg, split the batter in half, and added the spices to half and dark chocolate chips to the other. Both came out fabulous! I baked them in loaf pans instead of as muffins. It took about 45-50 minutes for them to cook through. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wollens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
these were sooooo amazing! the whole family couldnt stop eating them, my picky 2 year old, my 8 year old, and my meat eating(not vegan) boyfriend-he couldnt believe they were vegan. i did add walnuts and replaced half the oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
BE AWARE this recipe as written makes 24 MUFFINS not 12. They are delicious, but now I get to find out how well they freeze. I used vanilla soymilk, cut the white sugar in half and substituted applesauce for most of the oil. Added chopped walnuts and topped with cinnamon sugar before baking. You would never know they are vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
First off, the smell of these muffins cooking was heavenly. The taste and texture were terrific, and I'll definitely be making them again. I followed the recipe exactly as listed. The only other comment I can add is that there was enough batter to fill 12 muffin cups plus half of a bread pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frasherc
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
What an easy and great recipe! My family loved these. Note: I altered it slightly to reduce the amount of sugar and oil and they still came out moist and delicious! My alteration: I used 5 very ripe bananas (which are sweeter) and only used 1/2 cup of white sugar instead of the 1 cup this recipe calls for. I also substituted 1/2 the amount of oil for applesauce (so 1/2 cup oil; 1/2 cup applesauce (which also adds an element of sweetness)). I will do the same method next time or possibly use coconut oil instead of canola oil as I see another user has done. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Excellent recipe. I am the only vegan in my home. I made these and loved them. The other non vegan family members scarfed them down to and we're surprised to find out that they were vegan. I substituted soy milk because I didn't have coconut milk. Yum yum. Thanks MIEKO1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States